Close Racing Order of the Day

Hot weather and good fields were the order of the day in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Drummond and Etheridge : Laser Electrical, 48km graded scratch race around the Wakanui Beach block on Sunday.

Alex Hooper fresh from the NZ Track Cycling Championships had the final say in "A" grade to take victory in a sprint finish having bridged across to the break away pair of Nathan Tew and Daryl Kircher.   Christchurch riders Stu Lowe, Simon Earl, and Jaron Stephens rounded out the top six.

Paul Macfie showed real strength to hold the front to secure "B" grade honours in a tight finish. Simon White stormed into second place with Rachel Thow right on his tail in third.

Junior rider, Bailey O'Donnell continued his progression in the sport with a top shelf ride in "B" grade.

Marty Cuttle was made to work for his victory in a tough finish with a four man break away. Dean Longhurst continued his good form to secure second place with Doug Lowry taking the final podium position. Dave Knight was in the thick of the finish to take fourth place.  

"D" grade spoils were lifted by Roger Wilson having shown a clean set of heels in the charge to the line. Pam Harcourt pulled out another top ride to take second place with Janis Crawford and John Harcourt filling the next two spots.

The junior and Division 2 raced over 16km.

A great field of juniors went to the starting line, the majority of whom had had a successful Waitangi Day competing at the Mid-South Canterbury Centre Track Cycling Champs.

Caitlin Titheridge held on gamely to take the victory. Scratch rider Abe O'Donnell charged through the field to take second place and fastest time honours riding the course in 27.50. Ethan Titheridge made it a good day for the family holding onto third position. Matt Clough, Bella Roulston, and James Skinner rounded out the top six.

Janette Hooper had the final say in Division 2 edging out Brian Ellis in a tight finish. Gary Weston secured third and fastest time honours with Drew Titheridge right on his tail.

The Club travels to Terrace Downs next Sunday to contest a 48km handicap event.


Sam Letham continues to impress with a strong solo effort late in the race proving to be the decisive move leading to his victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, 45km handicap event in Methven on Sunday.

Letham's bold move earned him the Dean Cooksley Memorial Trophy presented by Dean's youngest nephew, Monty Kelk.

Having found the front of the event inside the final 8km, Letham rode away from the growing peloton and maintained his led to the line by a mere 8 seconds.

He would have been well aware the back markers were making strong progress through the field.

Steve Hands led the scratch markers in to claim second place and fastest time honours riding the course in 65.28.

Tony Ward secured third place with Jaron Stephens, Brad Hudson and Stu Lowe rounding out the top six.

With a large number of juniors competing in a Timaru track meet it was left to Ryan Jackson to storm home in the junior 15km event to take the victory and fastest time honours,

He had plenty of competition from a large division 2 field.

Methven local, Lizzy Barwell showed a clean set of heels to take the win with Rachel Russell charging into second place.

Irene Duff kept the Methven flag flying securing the third place spoils.

Vanessa Kelk pulled out a top shelf ride to take fastest time honours in a blanket finish with co-markers, Brian Ellis and Janette Hooper.

Next week the Club travels to Rakaia.  


Lisa Goldsbury kept the entire field at bay to secure victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, 47km handicap event around the Christys Road block on Sunday.

Starting of the front mark Goldsbury and her co-markers maintained a solid tempo before Goldsbury made a solo bid for glory mid way through the race and held on to lift the Alan Wylie Memorial Cup.

Geoff Rhodes new years training programme paid dividends leading in the chasing bunch to take the second place spoils.

Garry Weston was in the thick of the finish to claim the third place spoils with Doug Lowry continuing his good run of form in fourth place.

Dean Longhurst and Dave Knight rounded out the top six.

Steve Hands rode the course in a quick 61.41 to claim fastest time honours with co-markers Brad Hudson and Nathan Tew taking second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 competed over 18km.

Maddison Clark showed real determination in the hot conditions to take the victory in the junior event.

Caitlin Titheridge riding of the back mark rode through the field to secure the second place spoils and in doing so took out fastest time honours.

Bella Roulston stormed into third place with Ethan Titheridge producing a solid ride to take fourth.

Maddie Lowry and Ryan Jackson filled the next 2 positions.

Brain Ellis had the final say in the division 2 event to claim the win from Janette Hooper and Rachael Russell.

Next week the Club travels to Methven to contest the Dean Cooksley Memorial Trophies.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.