McClelland has Final Say

Bruce McClelland rediscovered some of his form of old, sprinting in a solid group of riders to take victory in Tinwald Cycling Club’s 45km handicap event around the Christy’s Road block on Sunday.

In doing so McClelland lifted the Alan Wylie Memorial Trophy.

McClelland timed his final kick to the line to perfection seeing off the challenge of second place getter Bruce Blackburn.

Ben Sutton produced his best race of the season securing the final podium position.

Don Morrison stormed into fourth place with Shane Gerken and John Harcourt rounding out the top six.

Steve Hands led in a big scratch group to take fastest time honours riding the course in 61.47. Ex pats Darrell Kircher and Stu Lowe claimed second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 competed over 18km.

Caitlin Titheridge had a stellar day securing the win and in doing so also picked up fastest time honours.

Bella Roulston continued her good form claiming the runner up and second fastest time spoils.

It was a good day for the Titheridge stable with Ethan taking third place.

Suzie Leech and Madison Clark rode strongly to take fourth and fifth places.

Kerry Clough continued his good form of recent weeks taking the win in Division 2 with Nicole Ellis and Hillary Singlewood hot on this tail filling the major placings.

Next week the Club travels to Methven to contest a 45km handicap event.

Teahen starts New Year off in Style

Long-time rider, Colin Teahen started the New Year off in style winning Tinwald Cycling Club’s first race of the year, the Bedrock Bar and Stone Grill, 36km handicap event around the Winchmore Church block on Sunday.

Teahen and his co-markers kept the big field of riders at bay, timing their effort to perfection to keep the chasing group out by a mere second on the finish line.

It was enough however to lift the Blackburn Cup.

Brian Ellis was the best performer in the strong Ellis stable securing the second place spoils.

Glen Marshall led the chasing group in to claim the final podium spot.

Seasoned campaigner Ross Templeton took fourth place with Kate Smith and Alex Crawford rounding out the top six.

Steve Hands had the final say in the race for fastest time honours riding the course in 48.44. Co-markers Michael Templeton and Nigel Douglas took second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 competed over 18km.

Connie Davidson secured the junior victory by the barest of margins in a sprint finish with ever improving Suzie Leech.

Laurence Pithie charged through the field from the scratch mark to take third and fastest time honours riding the distance in 26.56.

Abe O’Donnell took fourth place and second time with Oliver Davidson and Maddie Lowry securing top six finishes.

Division 2 honours were taken by Nicole Ellis with Hillary Singlewood and Andrew Colquhoun stepping onto the podium. Kerry Clough took the fastest time spoils.

Next week the Club will contest a 45km handicap event around the Christy’s Road block.

Letham claims Championship title

Sam Letham showed his strength, having snuck off the front of the leading bunch in the concluding stage of the Ashburton Club and MSA, Tinwald Cycling Club Championships on Sunday, and keeping the chasing riders at bay to claim the overall championship title.

The 64km mass start event saw a group of 11 riders containing most of the pre-race favourites break away at the 25km stage and settle into their work.

Michael Templeton led the chasing group in to secure second place with Nigel Douglas taking third place overall and lifting the veteran 1 title.

Tony Ward was in the thick of the finish securing vet 2 championship honours.

First women home, Rachel Thow worked hard to get into the led bunch and deservedly secured the overall women’s and vet 1 championship titles. Kristine Marriott took second place honours from third place getter Janice Crawford, who claimed the women’s vet 3 honours.

Paul Macfie continued his strong season to claim the men’s vet 3 title with the evergreen Don Morrison picking up vet 4 honours.

Lucy Kirwan was rewarded for her solid effort taking the women’s vet 2 spoils.

Sealed handicap honours went to Jamie Robertson, who put in a strong effort to get into the led group. Ross Templeton claimed the second place spoils with Marty Cuttle right by his side securing third place.

The under 17s and division 2 competed over 20km.

Mathew Clough proved too strong for his competitors, riding off the front to take the under 17 and overall junior Club title.

Ryan Jackson got the jump on the chasing group to take second place with James Skinner rounding out the top three boys’ placings.

Connie Davidson saved her best for the big occasion sprinting in with the boys to take the girls under 17 title.

Janette Hooper claimed Division 2 honours in a sprint finish with second place getter Andy Skinner. Kerry Clough was hot on their tail in third.

The under 15’s contested a 16km event.

Oliver Davidson made it a good day for the Davidson stable taking the under 15 title in a tight sprint to the line with second place getter Ethan Titheridge. Luke Skinner pulled out one of his best rides of the season to take third place.

Maddie Lowry had too many guns in the girls’ ranks getting home strongly to take the championship title. Suzie Leech continued her good form to take second place with Madison Clark storming into third place.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.