Spencer turns on the power

The back markers made the most of the tougher conditions to work their way through the field to claim the major spoils in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Brad Hudson Flooring, Mathieson Chartered Accountants, 38km handicap event on Sunday.

Brent Spencer showed his strength on the rolling Wakanui - Hakatere course to hold out his co-markers on the finish line to secure the victory and fastest time honours, riding the course in 54.05.

Tony Ward delivered his usual gutsy ride to second place and time.

Myles O’Donnell showed his winter training was not put to waste producing a top effort to claim the final podium position.

Sam Clements-Stewart, Craig Roulston and Doug Coley rounded out the top six.

Nigel Douglas was close behind to lift the third fastest time spoils.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 14km handicap event.

Zoe Spillane, fresh from competing in the junior Tour of Southland rode a solid race to take the victory and fastest time honours, riding the distance in 29.30.

First time starter Ben Pearson dug deep to secure the second place spoils.

Division 2 honours went to Janette Hooper in a tight finish with Debbie Skinner.

Next week the Club will contest a 45km handicap event around the Dawsons Road block.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.