Kircher crowned Club Champion


Darrell Kircher made the trip south from Christchurch a worthwhile one, securing the title of Tinwald Cycling Club’s open Champion for 2017.


With plenty to race for, a good field of riders went to the line in Tinwald Cycling Club’s, Ashburton MSA Liquor Centre, Club Championship, 64km mass start event around the Wakanui Beach block on Sunday.


Kircher and Tony Ward made a break inside the first 25km and built a buffer between them and the chasing bunch.


A concerted effort late in the race saw the chasing bunch pull the break back inside the last 10km, setting up an exciting finish.


It was Kircher however who regrouped and out kicked the opposition in the charge to the line to lift the major spoils, riding the distance in 96.40. 


Steve Hands charged into second place and also took the senior championship ribbon. 


Ward was rewarded for his aggressive ride securing third place.


Kristine Marriott put together a strong ride to secure the Open women’s and Veteran 1 titles in a tight battle with second place getter Rachel Thow.


Matt Clough put his multisport talents to the test securing the u19 title.


Alex Hooper rode strongly in the chasing group to claim the u23 title.


Michael Gallagher was another to find some good form in the last race of the calendar year to lift the men’s vet 1 ribbon.


Neil Wylie backed up his recent good results by securing vet 3 honours.


Don Morrison showed plenty of fight to put himself into a strong position and in doing so secured the vet 4 club title.


Michelle Davidson stuck to her task to take the women’s vet 2 spoils, with Sarah Hewson lifting the senior women’s ribbon. 


Liz Wylie rounded the year out the year in style by securing the women’s vet 3 honours.


Sealed handicap honours went to Mark Smitheram from Richard Kirwan and Hugh Copland.


The juniors also raced for Club titles over 16km.


Oliver Davidson built on his improving year on the bike to secure the u17 Club Championship title, riding the course in 24.16.


Caitlin Titheridge showed a good set of heels in the charge to the line to lift the girl’s u17 Championship title, in a tight contest with second place getter Bella Roulston.


Ethan Titheridge had an eye catching ride to take the u15 title, beating off the challenges from Ashton Stanger and Jack Templeton, who claimed second and third places respectively.


Maddi Lowry continued her good form to lift the girl’s u15 club title, from Paige Kiesanowski and Lily Davidson.


Paige took the sealed handicap spoils from Jack and Lily.


The Club will kick off post-Christmas racing on 7 January 2018, with a 36km handicap event around the Winchmore Church block



Smitheram lifts Cavill Memorial

Mark Smitheram, and his co-marker Liz Wylie keep the entire field at bay to take the victors’ spoils in Tinwald Cycling Club’s, Naigara, 60km handicap race around the Blackbridge block on Sunday.

With the chasing bunches coming together later in the race and charging hard, the front markers kept the pace on up front ensuring they were not caught.

Smitheram had the better of the two-up sprint to lift the Brian Cavill Memorial shield from a game Liz Wylie.

Mike Gallagher led the chasing group in to take the final podium position.

Kristine Marriott showed some good form leading into next weekend’s Club Championships securing fourth place. Coleman Burke and Rachel Thow rounded out the top six.

Scratch maker Tony Ward rode the course in 84.23 to claim fastest time honours from Steve Hands and Wayne Clement.  

The juniors and division 2 contested a 20km handicap event.

Maddi Lowry had the final say in the junior event, kicking clear in the finishing straight to secure the win.

Leeston visitor Ashton Stanger had a strong ride to take second place and third fastest time honours.

Bailey Stark produced an awesome first up ride to claim third spot.

Brea Roderick charged into fourth place and took second time, while Ethan Titheridge continued his good form riding the distance in 31.39 to lift fastest time honours.

Paige Kiesanowski rounded out the top six.

Lucy Clough took division 2 honours from Hillary Singlewood and Kerry Clough.

Next week Club titles will be up for grabs around the Wakanui Beach block.     



Wylie lifts Aaron Stewart Memorial

Neil Wylie had a day to remember in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, McDonald Family Restaurant, 48km handicap event around the Grahams Road block on Sunday.

With the Aaron Stewart Memorial trophy going to the victor there was no lack of motivation to find the line first.

Neil Wylie rolled back the clock, timing his charge to the line to perfection, scoring the win and taking the major spoils.

Wylie and his co-markers found the front of the race inside the final 5km setting up a spirited finish.

Ross Templeton working himself into some good form leading into the end of year Club Championships, took out second place.

Don Sutton finished the race off strongly to secure the final podium position.

Michelle Davidson, Ryan Jackson, and Richard Kirwan rounded out the top six.

Scratch marker Stu Lowe lifted fastest time honours, riding the course in 67.24.  Co-marker Darrell Kircher secured second time, with Rachel Thow taking third time.

 The juniors and division 2 competed over 16km.

Maddi Lowry produced a solid ride in hot conditions to secure the win from the fast finishing Caitlin Titheridge.  Caitlin’s efforts secured her the fastest time honours, riding the distance in 27.04.

Hillary Singlewood took division 2 honours from Harriett Sutton, who claimed fastest time honours.

Next week the Club will contest a 60km handicap event around the Blackbridge block.


Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.