Turner takes the win

Tom Turner made his trip across the Rakaia River worth his while on Sunday when taking victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, ACL : Small Business Accounting, 32km handicap event around the Wakanui Beach block.

Riding off the front mark Turner kept the chasing bunches at bay to secure the major spoils.

Ed Hobson found the line the strongest to secure second place from Penny Costello who rounded out a good day taking third place.

Wayne Whiting continued on his good early season form with a fourth place finish.

Sam Cuttle and Lucy Kirwan rounded out the top six.

Scratch marker Michael Templeton claimed fastest time honours riding the distance in a solid 44.14.

Co-markers Tony Ward and Brad Hudson secured second and third time respectively.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 16km handicap event.

Ryan Gallagher showed a clean set of heels in the final kick to the line to lift the winner’s cup.

Sarah Gould showed plenty of spirit to secure second place.

Sarah’s big brother Daniel stormed home to step up to the final podium position.

Charlotte Neal and Jack Templeton took fourth and fifth places.

Sixth place getter Maddi Lowry rode the course in 29.08 to claim fastest time honours.

Janette Hooper led home the division 2 riders in a close finish to claim the victory and fastest time honours.

Andy and Debbie Skinner filled the final two podium spots.

Next week the Club will contest a 38km handicap event around the Wakanui – Hakatere course with registration on Wilsons Road.   

All Four Season In One Day

The Tinwald Cycling Club kicked off its 2020/21 cycling season with the Dpi / EmbriodMe : Health 2000 graded scratch race around the Christys Road block.

The event started and finished in bright sunlight with riders enduring a hail storm and building winds mid race, adding some spice to the day.

“A” and “B” grade rode over 36km.

Steve Hands put his winter training to good use, producing a strong ride to claim “A” honours, riding the distance in 54.00.

Tony Ward and Brad Hudson rounded out the top three positions.

The “B” spoils went to Mike Gallagher, who was too strong in a tight finish, seeing off the challenges of Kyle Gray and Sam Clement-Stewart in the charge to the line.

“C” and “D” grade raced over 27km.

Brian Goodes showed he will be one to watch during the season, securing “C” grade honours, covering the course in 49.58.

Shona McGrath pulled out a top shelf ride to take second place, with Craig Roulston charging into third place.

Wayne Whiting made the trip south worth its while lifting the “D” grade winners cup.

Emma Hudson produced an eye catching ride to take second place with Richard Begg stepping up to the final podium position.   

The juniors also contested a graded scratch event with the “A” graders riding over 18km and “B” graders 9km.

It was a good day for the Spillane stable.

Zoe rode the course in 36.21, to secure victory in “A” grade, seeing of the strong challenges of Will Saunders and Ryan Gallagher.

Meanwhile little brother Copper took “B” honours with an equally strong ride.

Charlotte Neal having her first start put in an awesome effort to take second place.

Tom Reid dug deep to secure the third place spoils.

Kenny Johnston took division 2 honours in a tight finish with second place getter Janette Hooper.

Next week the Club will contest a 32km handicap event around the Wakanui Beach block.

51 year wait ended

It took John Delore 51 years to get redemption when he secured victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Tinwald Tavern Mid-Canterbury Championship on Saturday.

In 1969 as a youngster, Delore with one hand on the Cup, was pipped on the finish line and had to do with the second place.

The final event of the season’s calendar saw a good field of riders contest the 64km handicap event around the Wakanui beach block.

Delore and his co-markers worked well together to find the front of the race, and dug deep to keep the chasing groups as bay.

Delore bet Nigel Leary in the two up sprint to the line to etch his name in the Cup.

Leary’s second place was just reward for a good day’s work and a solid season of riding.

Penny Costello led the chasing group in to secure the final podium position and secure the senior women’s fastest time ribbon.

Shona McGrath was in the thick of the finish to claim fourth spot and the women’s veteran 3 title.

Liz Wylie and Brent Hudson rounded out the top six places.

Scratch marker Oliver Davidson produced a great ride to claim the overall fastest time honours, riding the distance in 92.11.

The evergreen Tony Ward secured second fastest time and the veteran 3 fastest time spoils.

Nigel Douglas was hot on their tail to claim third time and the veteran 1 time ribbon.

Kristine Marriot continued her great form with a strong ride to claim the overall women’s fastest time honours, from Caitlin Titheridge and Michelle Davidson.

Sam Clement-Stewart rounded out a good season with the senior men’s time ribbon.

Veteran 2 time honours went to Rob Hooper, with Christchurch visitor Brent Cowie lifting the veteran 4 fastest time title.

Marcel Smithers finished the season off in style securing the veteran 1 ribbon, with Caitlin Titheridge lifting the women’s under 19 spoils.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 16km handicap event.

Sarah Gould produced her best performance of the season, storming home to take the junior Mid-Canterbury Championship title.

Leah Reid also pulled out an outstanding ride to take the second place spoils.

Holly Crawford-Douglas rounded out a successful first season on the bike, taking third place.

Sisters Tegan and Penny Marriott were in the thick of the finish taking fourth and fifth places respectively.

Sixth place getter Zac Brookland lifted the under 15 boys fastest time ribbon.

Zoe Spillane who continues to impressive took the under 15 girls time title.

Scratch markers Ferg Sail and Maddi Lowry secured the under 17 boys and girls time ribbon respectively, riding the course in 26.01

Debbie Skinner took the division spoils from Janette Hooper, with third place getter Kenny Johnston claiming fastest time.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.