Ward all the way

Amanda Ward saw off all challengers to secure victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Canterbury Tree Topping Ltd, 48km handicap event around the Wakanui Beach block on Sunday.

Starting off the front mark, Ward made a solo bid for glory early and held on bravely to find the line first and lift the Ineson Cup.

Ward would have been only too aware that the chasing group were making a solid charge to the line, finishing inside 20 seconds behind.

Shane Brookland led the bunch in to secure second place and fastest time honours, riding the distance in 69.56.

Myles O’Donnell made his trip south worthwhile securing the third place spoils.

Fourth place getter Steve Hands took second time.

Richard Kirwan and Paul Macfie rounded out the top six in a tight finish.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 16km handicap event.

Zac Brookland made it a good day for the Brookland barn, securing the victory with a well-executed ride.

Brooke Wylie produced a top shelf effort to claim the second place spoils.

Zoe Spillane continued her good form to take the final podium position.

Mitch Brookland ensured he didn’t leave empty handed with a good ride to take fourth spot, ahead of the fast finishing Caitlin Titheridge who lifted fastest time honours, riding the course in 28.53.

Janette Hooper turned the tables on last week’s race to take division 2 victory from Harriot Sutton and Debbie Skinner.        

Next week the Club travels to Mt Somers to contest 45km mass start event.

Marshall hits form

Matt Marshall has hit a rich vein of form, having taken the chocolates the previous week he has gone back to back, claiming victory in Tinwald Cycling Club’s, 45km handicap event around the roads of Methven on Sunday.

His efforts saw him lift the Peach Cup and the winner’s ribbon.

With several bunches coming together on the bell lap, the charge was on to find the front of the race. This proved to be the case with the winning bunch catching the front markers inside the last 4km.

Marshall made the decisive first move in the sprint to the line with Kristine Marriott jumping out of the pack to secure second place.

Mark Summerfield finished off the race strongly to claim the final podium position.

Paul Sinclair, Ross Templeton, and Rob Hooper rounded out the top half dozen.

Scratch marker Hayden Jefferson continued his good form securing fastest time honours, covering the distance in a slick 64.46.

Co-markers Tony Ward and Brad Hudson secured second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 15km handicap event.

Zoe Spillane rode a super race to take the win. Zac Brookland keep the pressure on for the entire race to claim second spot, holding out his older brother Mitch, who charged into third place and in doing so took fastest time honours, riding the distance in 29.24.

Harriot Sutton secured division 2 victory in a close finish with Janette Hooper.

Next week the Club will contest a 48km handicap event around the Wakanui block.

Hard Racing Order of the Day

Tinwald Cycling Club took to the roads around the Blackbridge block on Sunday.

The AshburtonOnLine : LL Kirwan and Sons Ltd, graded scratch event saw A and B grade compete over 60km with C and D grade battling it out over 40km.

Hayden Jefferson continued his stellar form securing victory in A grade, riding the distance in 83.46. Brad Hudson and Tony Ward filled the final podium spots.

B grade saw a tight finish with Matt Marshall timing his final kick to the line to perfection, claiming the major spoils.  

Mark Summerfield who continues to impress, charged into second place.

The fast finishing Don Sutton took third place.

C grade produced the closest finish of the day with 8 riders in the thick of the finish.

Gene Shurrock had the final say to take a well-deserved win, cycling the course in 64.00.

Craig Roulston continued his good run of form to sneer second place with Paul Summerfield rounding out a good day for the Summerfield stable taking third place.

Nigel Chatterton rode strongly to secure D grade honours, seeing off the challenge of second place getter Dave Shurrock in a tight finish.

Lucy Kirwan stormed into third place.

The juniors and Division 2 contested a 20km handicap event.

Alex Holmes secured his second victory of the season with a solid ride in blustery conditions. Ethan Titheridge who continues to impress, took second place and fastest time honours, riding the distance in 33.17. Brooke Wylie pulled out a top shelf ride to secure third place.

Gary Weston took the division 2 spoils.

Next week the Club with travel to Methven to contest a 45km handicap event.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.