The Tinwald Cycling Club travelled to Methven on Sunday to contest a 45km handicap event, with the Peach Cups up for grabs.


A good percentage of the field came together in the concluding stages of the race keeping the finishing marshals on their toes.


With the first 33 riders finishing inside 10 seconds of each other it was a spirited finish with results wide open leading into the final 500 metres.


Wayne Clement timed his charge to the line to perfection to secure the victory and lift the Peach Cup.


Rob Hooper tracked the winner to the line picking up the second place spoils.


Dave Knight held on strongly to step up onto the final podium position.


Coleman Burke, backing up from last week’s good effort, stormed into fourth place, with Paul Sinclair and Myles O’Donnell rounding out the top six.


Alex Hooper led in the scratch markers to take fastest time honours, riding the course in a quick 63.12.  Darrell Kircher and Tony Ward took second and third time.


A good field boosted by an enthusiastic group of Leeston riders, contested the junior event, raced over 15km.


Sarah McClure rode a super race, riding through the field from the middle marks with her co-marker, to claim the win.


Courtney Elliot finished strongly to take the second place spoils.


Maddi Lowry continued her good form to secure third place, with Ashton Stainton on her tail in fourth place.


Lilly Davidson and Ethan Stainton rounded out the half dozen.


Scratch marker Ethan Titheridge overcame a bee sting to secure fastest time honours, riding the distance in 24.51.


Brea Roderick took second time in a tight finish with Caitlin Titheridge who picked up third time.


Next week the Club will contest a 48km handicap event around the Wakanui Beach block.



Hyde on a Mission

 Having gone close to victory last week, Marty Hyde left nothing to chance this week storming to the win in Tinwald Cycling Club’s, Davidson Refrigeration and Electrical, 48km handicap event around the Graham’s Road block on Sunday.

 Hyde and his co-markers set a solid pass, finding the front of the race inside the final 10km.  With plenty of work to do to keep the chasing riders at bay they continued the momentum to the finish.

 Hyde finished off in style to take the win, with Cam Harcourt backing up from participating in Mission Mount Somers the day before taking the second place spoils.

 Sarah Hewson showed she will be one to watch with a strong finish propelling her into third place.

 Pam Harcourt, Don Morrison, and new comer Mark Summerfield rounded out the top six.

 The break bunch made the most of a depleted scratch mark to claim the fastest time honours.

 Of note, junior rider Oliver Davidson, riding the senior event, showed his recent racing is reaping rewards, riding a super race to lead this group across the line.

 Rob Hooper was on his tail to take the fastest time honours riding the course in 73.12.  Dave Knight and Kristine Marriott claimed second and third time.

 It was good day for the Davidson stock, with Lily Davidson pulling out all the stops to hold the front from start to finish, securing the winners spoils.

 Bree Rodrick showed real potential taking second place and third fastest time honours.

 Scratch marker Ethan Titheridge stormed into third place and in doing so took fastest time honours riding the distance in 25.16.

 Caitlin Titheridge secured fourth and second time, with Bella Roulston rounding out the top five.

 Hillary Singlewood took Division 2 honours.

 Next week the Club will contest a graded scratch event around the Blackbridge block.   



Last gasp victory for Hooper

 A last gasp effort saw the back markers hit the front of the race inside the final 400 metres in the Tinwald Cycling Club’s, Robbie’s Bar and Bistro, White Fox and Jones Lawyers, 45km handicap event around the Dawsons Road block on Sunday.  

 Leading into the final lap of three it was anyone’s race, but the lure of riders in front drove the scratch markers on, as they slowly hauled in the leading bunches.

 Having over taken the leading group in the shadow of the finish line it was Alex Hooper who produced the best sprint to the line to claim the victor’s spoils.   Co-markers Steve Hands and Tony Ward securing second and third places respectively.

 Hooper’s riding time of 66.31 secured the fastest time honours.

 Kim Marshall produced a strong ride to claim fourth place, with Kristine Marriott and Dave Knight in the thick of the finish to round out the top six.

 The juniors and division 2 contested a 15km handicap event.

 Bella Roulston made it a good day for the scratch markers, getting up late in the race to take the win and fastest time honours, riding the course in 29.27.

 Maddi Lowry continued her good form to take the second place spoils with little sister Emma Lowry battling on strongly to secure third place.

 Hillary Singlewood took division 2 honours.

 Next week the Club will contest a 48km event around the Grahams Road block.


Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.