Reid takes Wylie Memorial

Rachel Reid continued her rise in the sport of cycling, securing victory in the Tinwald Cycling Club, Wylie Family, 45km handicap event around the Christys Road block on Sunday.

Reid and her co-markers maintained a solid pace from the start, ensuring the chasing groups were kept at bay.

In the charge to the line it was Reid who had the final say seeing off the spirited challenge from the Hudson duo, Emma and father in law Brent, who secured second and third places respectively.

Liz Wylie’s good season continues, claiming the fourth place spoils.

Kerry Clough and Lucy Kirwan led the chasing group in to round out the top six.

Scratch marker Cathal Guiney recorded the fastest time, riding the course in 63.45. Co-markers Tony Ward and Oliver Davidson claimed second and third time.          

The juniors and division 2 contested an 18km handicap event.

Penny Marriott pulled out a top shelf ride to take the win and lift the major spoils.

Mitch Brookland continued his good season form to secure second place.

Ethan Titheridge backed up a solid weekend of riding having competed at the Denton Oval Track Carnival, claiming fastest time honours, covering the distance in a slick 27.01.

Jack Templeton and Zoe Spillane filled the top five spots.

Janette Hooper took the win and fastest time honours in division 2, with Sue Templeton coming in a close second.

Next week the Club travels to Methven to contest a 45km handicap event.

Clement kicks the New Year off with win

Wayne Clement kicked the New Year off in style, winning Tinwald Cycling Club’s, 36km handicap event around the Winchmore Church block on Sunday.

Not only did Clement lift the winner’s cup, but he also took fastest time honours, riding the course in 50.33.

Riding off the first break mark, Clement and his co-markers worked hard to find the front bunch in the concluding stages.

There were plenty of chances inside the final kilometre, but Clement had the best kick to the line, beating in co-markers Shane Brookland and Steve Hands, who were rewarded for a hard ride with podium places, and second and third fastest times respectively.

Kristine Marriott carried over her good end of year form to take fourth place. Neil Wylie, and young Alex Holmes, having his first senior start, rounded out the top six.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 18km handicap event.

Zoe Spillane made the trip north worth her while securing the victory.

Brothers Zach and Mitch Brookland claimed the second and third place spoils.

Scratch marker Ethan Titheridge ripped up the course to take fourth place and secure fastest time honours, riding the distance in 26.13.

Debbie Skinner took division 2 honours.

Next week the Club will contest a 45km handicap event around the Christy’s Road block.          

Hudson wins in a tight finish

Tinwald Cycling Club championships titles were up for grabs in the Ashburton MSA Liquor Centre, 64km mass start event around the Wakanui Beach block on Sunday.

Spectators got a grandstand, nose for nose photo finish to determine the overall Club champion, with Brad Hudson getting the nod over the up and coming Hayden Jefferson.

Jefferson’s efforts earned him the under 19 title for 2018.

The evergreen Tony Ward was in the thick of the finish to claim the vet 2 title and third place overall.

These three riders broke clear mid race and keep the foot down, covering the distance in 94.43, ensuring the chasing bunch would not reel them in.

There was plenty to race for in the chasing groups with age group honours on the line.

Gary Weston rolled back the clock to produce a great ride securing the vet 3 spoils.

Matt Marshall saw off all challengers to secure the senior men’s title with Paul Williams taking out the vet 4 spoils.

Kristine Marriott continued her stellar form, lifting the overall women’s championship title.

Michelle Davidson backed up her hard work taking overall second women’s place and in doing so took the vet 2 women’s ribbon.

Shona McGrath claimed the overall women’s final podium position and vet 3 woman’s title.

Emma Hudson was rewarded for her efforts so far this season taking the senior women spoils.

Craig Roulston continued to impress, earning sealed handicap honours and lifting the Kirdy Memorial Cup, with Gene Shurrock and Nick Grijns rounding out the top three spots.

The juniors and division 2 fought out Club Championship honours over 16km.

Oliver Davidson made it back to back winnings claiming the under 17 boys and overall junior championship title, covering the course in a quick 23.53. Ethan Titheridge secured second place and was rewarded for a solid ride picking up the sealed handicap honours.

Caitlin Titheridge also backed up last year’s victory securing the under 17 girls title for 2018.

Maddie Lowry found the line strongly to get her name on the under 15 girls championship honours list for 2 years running.

Debbie Skinner and Janette Hooper could not be separated on the line sharing the victor’s spoils, with Andy Skinner taking third place.

The Club takes a break over the festive season and will resume with a 36km handicap event around the Winchmore Church block on 6 January 2019.         

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.