Hudson wins in a tight finish

Tinwald Cycling Club championships titles were up for grabs in the Ashburton MSA Liquor Centre, 64km mass start event around the Wakanui Beach block on Sunday.

Spectators got a grandstand, nose for nose photo finish to determine the overall Club champion, with Brad Hudson getting the nod over the up and coming Hayden Jefferson.

Jefferson’s efforts earned him the under 19 title for 2018.

The evergreen Tony Ward was in the thick of the finish to claim the vet 2 title and third place overall.

These three riders broke clear mid race and keep the foot down, covering the distance in 94.43, ensuring the chasing bunch would not reel them in.

There was plenty to race for in the chasing groups with age group honours on the line.

Gary Weston rolled back the clock to produce a great ride securing the vet 3 spoils.

Matt Marshall saw off all challengers to secure the senior men’s title with Paul Williams taking out the vet 4 spoils.

Kristine Marriott continued her stellar form, lifting the overall women’s championship title.

Michelle Davidson backed up her hard work taking overall second women’s place and in doing so took the vet 2 women’s ribbon.

Shona McGrath claimed the overall women’s final podium position and vet 3 woman’s title.

Emma Hudson was rewarded for her efforts so far this season taking the senior women spoils.

Craig Roulston continued to impress, earning sealed handicap honours and lifting the Kirdy Memorial Cup, with Gene Shurrock and Nick Grijns rounding out the top three spots.

The juniors and division 2 fought out Club Championship honours over 16km.

Oliver Davidson made it back to back winnings claiming the under 17 boys and overall junior championship title, covering the course in a quick 23.53. Ethan Titheridge secured second place and was rewarded for a solid ride picking up the sealed handicap honours.

Caitlin Titheridge also backed up last year’s victory securing the under 17 girls title for 2018.

Maddie Lowry found the line strongly to get her name on the under 15 girls championship honours list for 2 years running.

Debbie Skinner and Janette Hooper could not be separated on the line sharing the victor’s spoils, with Andy Skinner taking third place.

The Club takes a break over the festive season and will resume with a 36km handicap event around the Winchmore Church block on 6 January 2019.         

Reid’s hard work paying off

Chris Reid’s hard work on the bike paid dividends on Sunday when he took victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, McIntosh Group, 60km handicap event around the Blackbridge block.

With an excess of 60 riders going to the line, racing was spirited with trophies and cups up for grabs in memory of life members and long time supporters, brothers Eddie and Chris Ward.

Reid and his co-markers worked hard to find the front mid race and settled into a solid temple to keep the chasing groups at bay.

Reid was too strong in the charge to the line, securing the major spoils from Craig Roulston and Keith Johns.

Marty Cuttle produced his best race of the season to storm into fourth place with Nigel Chatterton and Shona McGrath rounding out the top six.

Scratch rider Bailey O’Donnell covered the distance in a quick 79.05 to claim fastest time honours.

Rinze Schuurman and Brad Hudson secured second and third time respectively.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 20km handicap event.

Mitch Brookland continued his stellar season with victory in the junior race seeing off the challenge of second place getter Ethan Stainger.

Ethan Titheridge, fresh from a successful track racing meet in Invercargill, filled the final podium position and secured fastest time honours, riding the course in 32.16.

Zoe Spillane and Penny Marriott, having her first ride, rounded out the top five.

Janette Hooper had the final say in the sprint to the finish line to claim the win in division 2 from Debbie and Andy Skinner.

Next week Club Championship titles will be on the line around the Wakanui Beach block.  

Ward all the way

Amanda Ward saw off all challengers to secure victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Canterbury Tree Topping Ltd, 48km handicap event around the Wakanui Beach block on Sunday.

Starting off the front mark, Ward made a solo bid for glory early and held on bravely to find the line first and lift the Ineson Cup.

Ward would have been only too aware that the chasing group were making a solid charge to the line, finishing inside 20 seconds behind.

Shane Brookland led the bunch in to secure second place and fastest time honours, riding the distance in 69.56.

Myles O’Donnell made his trip south worthwhile securing the third place spoils.

Fourth place getter Steve Hands took second time.

Richard Kirwan and Paul Macfie rounded out the top six in a tight finish.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 16km handicap event.

Zac Brookland made it a good day for the Brookland barn, securing the victory with a well-executed ride.

Brooke Wylie produced a top shelf effort to claim the second place spoils.

Zoe Spillane continued her good form to take the final podium position.

Mitch Brookland ensured he didn’t leave empty handed with a good ride to take fourth spot, ahead of the fast finishing Caitlin Titheridge who lifted fastest time honours, riding the course in 28.53.

Janette Hooper turned the tables on last week’s race to take division 2 victory from Harriot Sutton and Debbie Skinner.        

Next week the Club travels to Mt Somers to contest 45km mass start event.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.