Davidson scoops major titles

Tinwald Cycling Club contested one of their blue ribbon events on Sunday, the Ashburton MSA Liquor Centre, Tinwald Cycling Club Championships.

Held over 64km around the Wakanui Beach block, it was an opportunity for members to lift overall and age group Club Championship titles.

In contrast to previous years a large bunch of 14 riders broke clear midway through the first lap and stayed together, making for an interesting sprint to the line.

Oliver Davidson timed his run perfectly to hit the front in the shadow of the finish to claim the overall and under 19 championship titles.  Davidson rode the distance in 96.42.

Second place getter Flynn Beeman jumped first in the charge to the line and hung on bravely to the secure under 23 spoils.

Nigel Douglas was active throughout the race and was rewarded with third place overall and the veteran 1 title.

Brad Hudson stormed home late to take fourth place.

The evergreen Tony Ward finished fifth and in doing so lifted the veteran 3 ribbon.

Kristine Marriott was in the thick of the finish to claim the women’s overall Cup and veteran 2 championship ribbon.

Rob Hooper kicked on gamely in the charge the line to secure the men’s veteran 2 honours.

Sam Clement-Stewart rounded out his busy weekend of training with a solid performance, to lift the senior men’s title.

Under 19 women’s honours and second women overall went to Caitlin Titheridge.

Don Morrison produced another solid effort to take veteran 4 spoils.

Marcel Smithers had a day to remember, securing the senior women’s ribbon, along with third women home, and lifting the sealed handicap trophy.

Shona McGrath found plenty of strength to take the veteran 3 women’s title.

The juniors also had the chance to take home Club titles, competing over 16km.

A good field of all under 15 riders went to the line.

Zoe Spillane continued her great season form to take the victory and secure the overall junior championship tile and the under 15 girl’s ribbon, riding the course in 30.10.

Penny Marriott continued her rise in the sport, securing the girls second place and sealed handicap honours.

Lily Davidson was in the thick of race to take the girls third place spoils.

Anwolf Artz backed up last week’s top effort to take the boys under 15 championship title.

Jack Templeton was hot on his heels to claim the second place spoils, with James Reid rounding out the top 3 podium finishers.

The Club will take a break and kick the New Year off with a 36km handicap event around the Winchmore Church block on 5 January 2020.

Grijns celebrates

It’s been a long time between drinks for Nick Grijns but on Sunday he had something to celebrate, when he took out the Tinwald Cycling Club, Ward Family, McIntosh Group, 60km handicap event around the Blackbridge block.

The finish was determined in a three way sprint to the line.

Grijns turned the clock back, kicking hard to the finish line, and holding on for the victory.

Ross Templeton who is starting to show good form leading into the Club Championships this coming week, took out second place.

Nigel Chatterton produced his best race of the season with a solid third place.  

Mark Smitheram, Matt Clough, and Larry Neal rounded out the top six.

Christchurch visitor Jack Drage, showed his potential securing fastest time honours, riding the course in 87.01.

Tony Ward and Oliver Davidson took second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 20km handicap event.

Leah Reid was rewarded for a great ride, holding on by the barest of margins to secure the win.

Amwolf Artz showed he will be one to watch with an eye catching ride to take second place.

Penny Marriott continued her good form to take the third place spoils.

Lily Davidson and Tegan Marriott filled the next two spots.

Sixth place getter Ethan Titheridge, took out fastest time honours, riding the distance in 32.43.

Andy Skinner lifted division 2 honours, in a close finish with his wife, Debbie.

Next week Club Championship titles will be on the line, in a 64km event around the Wakanui Beach block.

Summerfield has final say

In excess of 50 riders went to the starting line in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Aaron Stewart Memorial, McDonalds Family Restaurant, 48km handicap event around the Grahams Road block on Sunday.

With half the field in contention leading onto the final kilometres the result was wide open.

Mark Summerfield proved to have the strongest finish to take the well-earned victory in a tight finish.

Christchurch visitor Mark Taylor produced a solid ride to secure the second place spoils.

Flynn Beeman continued his good form with a gutsy ride, seeing him fill the third place podium position.

Quinten Lawler, Paul Sinclair, and Jake Beeman rounded out the top six.

Scratch marker Darryl Kircher covered the distance in 68.50 to claim fastest time honours and in doing so lifted the Arron Stewart Memorial Cup.

Co-makers Oliver Davidson and Stu Lowe took second and third time respectively.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 16km handicap race.

Tegan Marriott dug deep in the final stages of the race to keep the chasing riders at bay by the barest of margins to take the win and major spoils.

Sarah Gould had an awesome ride to take second place.

First time starter Eliza McKenzie was in the thick of finish to secure a well-deserved third place.

Penny Marriott, Lily Davidson, and Jack Templeton filled the top six places.

Back marker Ethan Titheridge rode the course in 26.21 to secure fastest time honours.

Kenny Johnston took division 2 honours.

Next week the Club will contest a 60km handicap event around the Blackbridge block.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.