Hot Day of Racing

Tinwald Cycling Club contested the LL Kirwan and Sons Ltd : AshburtonOnline graded scratch event around the Blackbridge block on Sunday.

This saw the “A” and “B” graders compete over 57km, with “C” and “D” battling it out over 38km.

There was the added challenge of managing the rising temperatures that tipped into the 30’s.

Brad Hudson had the final say in the charge to the line to secure the “A”
spoils, riding the distance in 90.10.

Tony Ward and Cole Harris took and second and third places respectively.

A large field of “B” graders fought out a tight finish, with last week’s winner Flynn Beeman, backing up with the victory.

Beeman rode the course in 96.14.

Hot on his heals was the fast finishing Chris Reid, with Paul Sinclair in the thick of the finish claiming third place.

Marty Cuttle hit the line strongly to secure “C” honours, recording a time of 65.57.

Marty Hyde continued his good early season form with second place, while Jake Beeman lifted third place in his first hit out of the season.

“D” grade saw the third runner in the Beeman stable, Cole Beeman come out on top, in a time of 75.44.

Dewalt Venter produced a solid ride to take second place with Kerry Clough finishing strongly in third.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 19km handicap event.

The result was only decided on the line, with Jack Templeton claiming the victory after a tight sprint finish with second place getter Daniel Gould.

Sarah Gould made it a good day for the family securing the third place spoils.

Zoe Spillane produced a great ride to take fourth place.  Zac Brookland and James Reid rounding out the top six.

Scratch marker Ethan Titheridge claimed fastest time honours, riding the distance in 33.38.

Kenny Johnstone secured division 2 honours from Hillary Singlewood and Sue Templeton.

Next week the Club travels to Methven to contest a 45km handicap event. 

Beeman on top

Flynn Beeman produced a top ride to secure the victory and major spoils in Tinwald Cycling Club’s, Nelson Building Society, 48km handicap event around the Grahams Road block on Sunday.

Beeman made a solo bid for glory into the tough head wind finish, chasing down the front markers inside the final 3km.

Co-marker Nigel Chatterton dug deep in the concluding stages to claim second place.

Front markers Liz Wylie and Nigel Leary put up a brave effort in challenging conditions to deservedly secure third and fourth places respectively.

Cole Beeman made it a good day for the Beeman stable charging into fifth place, with Larry Neal rounding out the top six.

Scratch marker Hayden Jefferson claimed fastest time honours, riding the distance in 70.30.  Nigel Douglas and Steve Caldwell secured second and third time. 

The juniors and division 2 contested a 16km handicap event.

Back marker Maddi Lowry rode through the field to claim the win and fastest time honours.  Maddi rode the distance in 28.53.

It was a close fought event with Maddi catching the front marker Holly Crawford-Douglas in the shadow of the finish line.

Holly held on for second place, with the fast finishing Lily Davidson taking the third place spoils.

Sarah Gould produced a great ride to take fourth place.

Leah Reid stormed home to take fifth place, with Daniel Gould charging into sixth place.

Kenny Johnstone secured division 2 bragging rights.

Next week the Club will contest a graded scratch race around the Blackbridge block. 

Hyde battles to victory

Riders battled rising winds and each other in Tinwald Cycling Club’s, White Fox and Jones Lawyers, 45km handicap event around the Dawson’s Road block on Sunday.

Winner Marty Hyde and his co-markers worked well together to ensure they found the front and kept the chasing bunches at bay.

In the push to the line Hyde managed to get a small gap on the sister duo of Amy Ferguson and Nicole Hands, to claim the victor's spoils.

Ferguson, for the second time this season, got the better of her sister, to secure second place, edging Hands into third.

Mark Smitheram produced a gutsy ride to claim fourth place.

Marty Cuttle, Ross Templeton, and Nick Grijns, who have shown good consistent form in the past weeks, rounded out the top half dozen.

Scratch marker Hayden Jefferson rode the course in 66.26 to take fastest time honours.

Co-markers Tony Ward and Nigel Douglas took second and third time.

A great field of juniors went to the line to contest a 15km handicap ride.

Holly Douglas was rewarded for her tough rides over the past weeks, producing a great effort to secure the win.

The next three place getters were having their first start in a Sunday road event.

Tegan Marriott showed plenty of dash in the charge to the line to secure the second place spoils.

Close on her heels was Sarah Gould, producing a great ride to take the final podium position.

Leah Reid put in a super effort to take fourth place, getting up over fifth place getter Penny Marriott, in the sprint to the line.

Mitch Brookland secured sixth place and third fastest time.

Maddi Lowry continued her good form, riding the distance in 26.58 to secure fastest time honours. 

Zoe Spillane claimed second fastest time.

Kenny Johnstone took division 2 honours with Rachel Reid coming in second and in doing so secured fastest time.

Next week the Club will contest a 48km handicap event around the Grahams Road block.      

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.