Geoff Rhodes was rewarded for some solid early season efforts with a victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Davidson Refrigeration and Electrical Ltd, 48km handicap event around the Grahams Road block on Sunday.

Rhodes win earned him the right to lift the McElinney Trophy which is no mean feat in itself as it is arguably one of the larger trophies in the District standing at 1.10 metres in height.

It was a tight finish with Alex Crawford charging into second place with Doug Coley pulling out an eye catching performance to secure the third place spoils.

Jamie Robertson showed plenty of promise taking fourth position with Dave Shurrock and Mark Smitheram rounding out the top six.

Timaru visitor Craig Domigan claimed fastest time honours riding the course in 67.54. Co-markers Tony Ward and Josh Connor secured second and third time respectively.

The juniors and division 2 rode 18km.

Maddie Lowry continued her stellar season with a hard fought win over a determined Connie Davidson. Matt Clough charged into third place and in doing so also claimed fastest time honours covering the distance in 27.23. Caitlin Titheridge was hot on his tail in fourth with brother and sister duo Dylan and Suzie Leech filing the next two spots.

Kerry Clough had a good ride to claim Division 2 victory with Janette Hooper taking second and fastest time honours.

Next week the Club will contest a graded scratch event around the Blackbridge block.


Wayne Whiting went it alone in Tinwald Cycling Club’s Robbies Bar and Bistro 45km handicap event around the Dawsons Road block on Sunday.

Having made a bold solo break away mid race, Whiting found the front and settled into his work in blustery conditions, ensuring that the chasing marks did not haul him to secure a hard fought victory.

A sizable chasing group came together inside the last couple of kilometres with Rob Hooper finishing the race the strongest to claim the second place spoils. Timaru visitor Nathan Dickson took the final podium position. Neil Wylie, having his first hit out of the season, showed he is in good nick claiming fourth spot. Kristine Marriott and Michael Gallagher rounded out the top six.

Chris Karton continued his record of fastest times covering the course in 65.40. Co-markers Tony Ward and Simon Earl took second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 competed over 15km.

Suzie Leech pulled out a top shelf ride to take the win in a tight finish with second place getter Amy Stilgoe-Rooney. Mitchel Fitzsimmons continued his good form to take the third place spoils. Fourth place getter Abe O’Donnell made a late charge and was rewarded with fastest time honours riding the distance in 28.24. Bella Roulston and Matheson Colquhoun filled the top six spots.

Andy Skinner took Division 2 honours.  

Next week the Club will contest a 48km handicap event around the Grahams Road block.


John Harcourt timed his charge to the line to perfection to claim victory and lift the Wakanui Cup in Tinwald Cycling Club’s, Brad Hudson Flooring : Mathieson Chartered Accountnts, 35km handicap around the Wakanui – Hakatere block on Sunday.

Harcourt and his co-markers never let off chasing down the front markers, catching them in the dying stages of the race.

Liz Wylie pulled out a top shelf effort to secure the second place spoils with new comer Gerard Morrison showing he is a quick learner taking the final podium position.

Ben Sutton, Don Morrison, and Lucy Kirwan rounded out the top six, just reward for their solid efforts.

Chris Karton covered the course in 50.04 to take fastest time honours with co-markers Tony Ward and Steve Hands securing second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 16km handicap event.

Matheson Colquhoun continued his good early season form to secure the win in a hard fought sprint to the line with second place getter Maddie Lowry. Ethan Titheridge carried from his sterling efforts at the recent Yunca Junior Tour of Southland to take the third place spoils.

Bella Roulston and Oliver Davidson were hot on his tail to claim fourth and fifth respectively.

Abe O’Donnell also build on his successful trip south to take fastest time honours from Mitchel Fitzsimons and Caitlin Titheridge.

Janette Hooper took the division 2 win with Kerry Clough in second position.

Next week the Club contests a handicap event around the Dawsons Road block.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.