Ineson Cup to Whiting

Wayne Whiting is having a season to remember, after picking up his second victory in Tinwald Cycling Club’s, Canterbury Tree Topping Ltd, Tavendale and Partners, 48km handicap event around the Wakanui Beach block on Sunday.

Merv Ineson, a long time rider and supporter of the Club, was on hand to present the Cup in his name to Whiting.

With the chasing markers charging hard, Whiting made a bold solo bid bridging over to the front of the race before making one last effort to ride clear and claim the win.

Liz Wylie, building on her top ride last week, again claimed the second place spoils with her co-marker Brian Goodwin producing a top shelf effort to secure the final podium spot.

Matt Marshall showed plenty of strength to lead in a growing bunch of riders to claim fourth place. Marty Cuttle and Dave Knight rounded out the top six.

Scratch rider Simon Earl secured fastest time honours riding the course in 67.54 with co-markers Tony Ward and Michael Templeton on his tail taking second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 16km handicap event.

Bella Roulston showed plenty of spirit in a four way sprint to the line to claim a hard fought victory.

Oliver Davidson, who has ridden himself into some form, took the second place spoils. The ever consistant Ryan Jackson found himself back on the podium with Ethan Titheridge in the thick of the finish taking fourth place.

Abe O’Donnell charged through the field to take fifth and fastest time honours riding the distance in 26.02. Mitchel Fitzsimmons and Caitlin Titheridge filled the next two position and time honours respectively.

Janette Hooper took division 2 victory from Kerry Clough and Harriet Sutton.

Next week the Club travels to Mt Somers to contest a 45km mass start.

Peach Cup lifted by Blackburn

The Tinwald Cycling Club travelled to Methven to contest a 45km handicap event with the coveted Peach Cups up for grabs.

Bruce Blackburn alongside co-marker Liz Wylie worked hard off the front to maintain a gap to the chasing marks.

It was Blackburn who had the strongest sprint to claim the victory with Wylie on his tail to deservedly secure the second place spoils.

Don Morrison rode strongly to charge into third place with Lucy Kirwan producing a top effort taking fourth position.

A large bunch sprint determined the remainder of spots and fastest time honours.

Scratch rider Tony Ward produced a well timed sprint to take the fifth place spoils and fastest time honours covering the course in 71.13.

Co-markers Bailey O’Donnell and Sam Letham secured second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 15km handicap event.

A good field of 15 youngsters took to the line with Caitlin Titheridge coming out victorious after a solid solo ride to catch the lead bunch before jumping clear on the finish line.

Ryan Jackson continued his good recent form with a hard fought second. Ethan Titheridge gave his big sister some cheek in the charge to the line to secure the third place spoils. Isabella Roulston, Maddy Lowry and Charlotte Gray rounded out the top six.

Scratch rider Abe O’Donnell rode the course in 25.22 to secured fastest time honours from co-marker Matt Clough.

Kerry Clough took division 2 honours from Janette Hooper who secured second and fastest time.

Next week the Club will contest a 48km handicap event around the Wakanui Beach block.


Tinwald Cycling Club riders contested the LL Kirwan and Son Ltd : AshburtonOnline graded scratch race around the Blackbridge block on Sunday.

“A” and “B” grade competed over 60km with “C” and “D” battling over 40km.

Simon Earl fought hard to secure a small break in the dying stage of the “A” grade to secure the victory. Brad Hudson drove hard in the chase and was rewarded with second place with Neil Wylie and Rob Hooper on this tail rounding out the top four.

“B” grade also saw a late break in the bunch with Rachel Thow showing great strength in the charge to the line to take the major spoils. Jamie Robertson continued his good form claiming second place with Kristine Marriott earning a hard earned third. Dave Knight led the chasing bunch in to take fourth.

“C” grade was decided in a bunch sprint with Gary Weston producing a performance of old to take the win. Alex Crawford produced another top shelf ride to take second. Brendon Davidson reclaimed top spot in the Davidson stable with a solid third place edging Andrew Shepherd into fourth.

It was a Harcourt quinella in “D” grade with John securing the win and bragging rights over his with Pam. Colin Teahen was in the thick of the finish to take a well deserved third. Lucy Kirwan showed promising form to take fourth spot.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 20km handicap event.

Connie Davidson produced her best ride of the season and a blistering sprint to take the major spoils in the junior event. Sam Cuttle showed he has not lost any of his good bike form claiming second place in the tight sprint to the line. Isaac Earl and Luke Skinner were right on their tail filling the top four positions.

Matt Clough took fastest time honours riding the distance in 34.26. Abe O’Donnell and Mitchel Fitzsimmons secured second and third time.

Andy Skinner took division 2 honours with Janette Hooper taking second and fastest time honours. Kerry Clough rounded out the top three.

Next week the Club travels to Methven to contest a 45km handicap event.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.