Rhodes has Final Say

Having carried the bridesmaid tag for the better part of the season after a number of podium finishes, Geoff Rhodes finally broke the drought with a hard fought victory in Tinwald Cycling Club's, The Frontrunner, Avanti Plus, 60km handicap event around the Blackbridge block on Sunday.

Rhodes and his co-markers found the front of the race at the 50km mark and worked solidly to keep the chasing groups at bay.

Rhodes kicked clear in the sprint to the line to see of a game challenge from second place getter Dave Shurrock.

Pam Harcourt stormed into third place getting the nod over her husband John Harcourt who secured fourth place.

Brendan Davidson and Roger Wilson rounded out the top six.

Michael Templeton secured fastest time honours, riding the course in 80.44. Fellow scratch riders Nathan Tew and Brad Hudson took second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 20km handicap event.

Oliver Davidson had a day to remember riding strongly to secure line and fastest time honours.

Ryan Jackson rounded out a successful weekend having podiumed the day before at Rakaia to take second place and time.

Connie Davidson ensured the Davidson stable had plenty to celebrate by securing third place.

Isabella Roulston and Luke Skinner rounded out the top five.

Janette Hooper won the battle of Division 2 from Rachel Russell and Andy Skinner.

Next week the Club will contest a 50km handicap event around the Swamp Road block.    

Knight Secures Hard Earned Victory

Dave Knight put his regular Port Hills training rides to good use on Sunday when he came out victorious in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Hinds Seed Cleaning, Paul Wylie Cyclerama, 50km handicap event at Hinds.

Knight's efforts earned him one of the longest standing trophies in the Club, The Boomerang Cup first presented in 1922.

With several marks coming together at the front of the race and a flying scratch bunch making solid inroads into their lead the final result was wide open.

Knight found the line the strongest in a spirited sprint finish with second place getter Glen Marshall.

John Uden produced his best performance of the year to secure the third place spoils getting home ahead of Pete Wilcox, Matt Marshall and Richard Kirwan.

Alex Hooper led in the scratch markers a mere 8 seconds later to claim fastest time honours riding the course in 66.43. Michael Templeton and Tony Ward were in the thick of the finish to claim second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 competed over 20km.

Maddison Clark pulled out a great ride to keep the chasing riders at bay to claim the win in the junior race.

Back marker Mathew Clough stormed into second place and in doing so also claimed fastest time honours covering the distance in 35.58.

Abe O'Donnell was right on his tail to secure third place and second time.

Oliver Davidson and Ethan Titheridge rounded out the top five.        

Rachel Russell saw off all challengers to take division 2 honours. Brain Ellis put local knowledge to good use to take the second place spoils with Kerry Clough producing his best ride of the season to take third place.

Next week the Club will contest a handicap event around the Surveyors - Longbeach Road block.

Shurrock conquers picturesque Terrace Downs race

The Tinwald Cycling Club travelled to Terrace Downs on Sunday to contest the AshburtonOnline, Terrace Downs Resort, Jasama Farm, 43km handicap event.

Riders were greeted with a picture perfect day enhancing the courses reputation as one of the best on the Clubs calendar.

Gene Shurrock made a decisive sole bid in the second half of the race and bridged across to the front markers before kicking on to take the victory and lift the Spicer Cup.

Doug Lowry and Shane Gerken chased hard making steady inroads into Shurrock's lead but the finish line came too early. Lowry led Gerken in to claim the second place spoils.

Kathy Askin held on bravely to secure fourth place with Dave Knight and Mike Kennish rounding out the top six.

Alex Hooper led in a solid bunch of back markers to claim fastest time honours riding the course in 64.37.

Co-markers Nathan Tew and Brad Hudson secured second and third time.

The juniors and Division 2 competed over 16km.

Timaru visitor Chase Domigan rode strongly off the front mark to take the win and step on top of the podium.

The fast finishing Oliver Davidson charged into second place and in doing so claimed third fastest time.

Ethan Titheridge continued his good form of late to take third place with Ryan Jackson in fourth.

Abe O'Donnell covered the course in 29.40 to secure fastest time honours from India Domigan.

John Harcourt powered to victory in Division 2 from Brian Ellis and Janette Hooper.

Next week the Club travels to Hinds to contest a 50km handicap race.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.