Bancroft holds on gamely

Helen Bancroft took victory in Tinwald Cycling Club's penultimate race of the season, the Frontrunner / Avanti Plus : Kelly's Bar and Cafe, a 60km handicap event around the Blackbridge block on Sunday.

It was a solid hit out for riders leading into the 80km Mid Canterbury Championships next week.

Bancroft rode strongly off a front mark to keep the chasing groups at bay.

Kevin Opele led in the chasing group to secure the second place spoils. Kristine Marriott continued her good form to take third place and lay claims as one of the favourites to take the women's fastest time honours next week. Ross Templeton continued his top run of form sprinting into fourth position.

Martin Hyde and Gary Weston rounded out the top six.

Nigel Douglas is looming as a dark horse next weekend taking fastest time honours in a well contested sprint finish. Douglas led in co-markers Steve Hands and Tony Ward in a time of 83.30.

Jessie Banks back from a successful campaign at the NZ Age Group Track Cycling Championships took the win and fastest time honours in the junior 20km event.

Bailey O'Donnell produced a top shelf effort to lay claims to second place edging younger brother Abe into third. Connie Davidson secured fourth place spoils with Oliver Davidson and Ryan Jackson filling the top six spots.

Brian Ellis took division 2 honours sprinting in Janette Hooper with Shona McGrath-Proctor close behind in third, claiming fastest time.

Next Saturday the Club will host the final race of the season, the 80km Mid-Canterbury Championships around the Wakanui block.  

Hutchinson lifts Boomerang Cup

Chris Hutchinson led in a large group to claim victory and lift one of the oldest cups in the Tinwald Cycling Clubs cabinet, the 91 year old Boomerang Cup.

The Hinds Seed Cleaning : Paul Wylie Cyclerama, 50km handicap event raced in Hinds saw a number of groups come together inside the final 5 km, with the majority of the field finishing inside one and half minutes.

Hutchinson led out strongly with only Matt Marshall and junior Joe Hutchinson able to go with him.

Marshall held on gamely to secure second place with Rachel Thow charging into third in a tight finish with fourth place getter Dave Knight.

Glenn Moore continues his good season finding the line solidly in fifth with Kevin Opele rounding out the top six.

Michael Templeton lifted fastest time honours riding the course in 72.46 with co-markers Brad Hudson and Tony Ward taking second and third time.  

Abe O'Donnell showed grit into the head wind finish to take the win in the junior 18km handicap event. Caitlin Titheridge continues to impress with a top ride to claim second place and secure fastest time honours. Bella Roulston dug deep to secure the third place spoils.

Bailey O'Donnell and Oliver Davidson filled the top five spots.

Brian Ellis put his home town knowledge to good use leading in Janette Hooper to take victory in division 2.

Next week the Club will run a 3 stage mini tour at Wakanui with seniors starting at midday.  

Robertson Tames Picturesque Course

The Tinwald Cycling Club travelled north on Sunday to contest the AshburtonOnLine 50km handicap event on the picturesque Terrace Downs - Lake Coleridge course.

In excess of 50 riders battled each other and the building nor-westers.

It was local man Jamie Robertson who dug deep to keep the chasing scratch markers at bay who were charging their way through the field, to claim victory.

Nathan Tew led the chasing group in to claim second place and fastest time honours riding the course in 80.02.

Craig Domigan secured third and second fastest time with Steve Hands taking third time.

Fresh from a creditable fourth in the Coast to Coast 2 day event, Rob Nesbitt took the fourth place spoils with Nigel Douglas and Mike Kennish rounding out the top six.

Caitlin Titheridge had a battle royal with her co-marker India Domigan to secure victory in the junior 14km race. With both girls starting on the back mark, fastest time honours were also up for grabs and were only determined after a tight sprint to the line.

Chase Domigan led in Abe O'Donnell and Oliver Davidson to take the final podium position.

Brian Ellis took top spot in division 2 with Janette Hooper right on his tail in second.

Next week the Club travels to Hinds to contest a 50km handicap race.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.