Hudson takes the win

Brad Hudson sent a warning out to riders leading up to next weeks Club Championships taking victory in Tinwald Cycling Club's, Davidson's Refrigeration and Electrical Ltd, 50km handicap event around the Swamp Road block on Sunday.

Competitors had to contend with wet roads and rain at the top of the course and fine dry roads at the start-finish.

Hudson and his co-markers rode through the field finding the front inside the last 2km, setting up a large bunch sprint.

It was Hudson who found the line the strongest to hold out a game challenge from Christchurch visitor Jono Gee with Nigel Douglas storming into third place.

Matt Marshall and Ross Templeton rounded out the top five.

Hudson was also rewarded for his efforts riding the course in 75.20 to secure fastest time honours from co-markers Gee and Michael Templeton.

The juniors and Division 2 contested a 16km handicap event.

Connie Davidson rode well off the front to keep all the chasing riders at bay and take the victory. Caitlin Titheridge continued her good form to secure second place. Ben Sutton took the final podium position and in doing so secured fastest time honours riding the distance in 28.43. Ryan Jackson and Cameron Prattley were hot on their heals in fourth and fifth spots.

Drew Titheridge bet all comers to take Div 2 honours.

Next week the Club will hold their Club Championships around the Wakanui Beach block.        

Win for Knight

Dave Knight found the line the strongest to claim victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Darryl Phillips Motors : Goodman Tavendale Reid Law, 48km handicap event around the Grahams Road block on Sunday.

Knight jumped early to create a small gap that he held to the line with the next 11 riders finishing within 2 seconds of each other.

It was Glen Moore who secured second place in the tight finish with Pam Harcourt charging into third place. Allan Johns continued his early season improvements with a hard fought fourth. Lucy Kirwan rounded out the top five.

Scratch rider Nathan Tew took fastest time honours covering the course in 67.46. Co-markers Tony Ward and Scott Albon took second and third time.

The juniors rode a 16km handicap race.

Ben Sutton continued his success of late picking up the win and fastest time honours, riding the distance in 29.46. Jenna Borthwick rode a super race to take the second place spoils. Oliver Davidson was rewarded for some solid rides over recent weeks to take third place with Caitlin Titheridge and Cameron Prattley filling the top five spots.

Next week the Club will contest a 50km handicap event around the Swamp Road block.

Nesbitt goes back to back

Rob Nesbitt has found the winning way having secured back to back wins in Tinwald Cycling Clubs Sunday racing.   Nesbitt claimed victory in the Ross Templeton Motors : David Smith Surveying Ltd, 48km handicap event around the Wakanui Beach block, having made a solo break in the final lap to find the front and hold out the challengers in the final sprint to the line.

Bruce Albon hit the line strongly to take second place honours narrowly over the improving Brendan Davidson who stormed into third place.  Glen Moore and Janis Crawford rounded out the top five.    

Scratch marker Nathan Tew rode the course in 69.07 to take fastest time honours from co-markers Tony Ward and Brad Hudson.

A good field of juniors competed over 16km.

Ethan Titheridge also achieved back to back victories securing the win by the barest of margins over second place getter Jenna Borthwick.  Connie Davidson was in the thick of the finish to take the third place spoils.  Ben Sutton covered the course in 28.32 to record the fastest time from co-marker Jessie Banks.

Next week the Club travels to Mt Somers.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.