Beeman on top

Flynn Beeman produced a top ride to secure the victory and major spoils in Tinwald Cycling Club’s, Nelson Building Society, 48km handicap event around the Grahams Road block on Sunday.

Beeman made a solo bid for glory into the tough head wind finish, chasing down the front markers inside the final 3km.

Co-marker Nigel Chatterton dug deep in the concluding stages to claim second place.

Front markers Liz Wylie and Nigel Leary put up a brave effort in challenging conditions to deservedly secure third and fourth places respectively.

Cole Beeman made it a good day for the Beeman stable charging into fifth place, with Larry Neal rounding out the top six.

Scratch marker Hayden Jefferson claimed fastest time honours, riding the distance in 70.30.  Nigel Douglas and Steve Caldwell secured second and third time. 

The juniors and division 2 contested a 16km handicap event.

Back marker Maddi Lowry rode through the field to claim the win and fastest time honours.  Maddi rode the distance in 28.53.

It was a close fought event with Maddi catching the front marker Holly Crawford-Douglas in the shadow of the finish line.

Holly held on for second place, with the fast finishing Lily Davidson taking the third place spoils.

Sarah Gould produced a great ride to take fourth place.

Leah Reid stormed home to take fifth place, with Daniel Gould charging into sixth place.

Kenny Johnstone secured division 2 bragging rights.

Next week the Club will contest a graded scratch race around the Blackbridge block. 

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.