Sam Letham continues to impress with a strong solo effort late in the race proving to be the decisive move leading to his victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, 45km handicap event in Methven on Sunday.

Letham's bold move earned him the Dean Cooksley Memorial Trophy presented by Dean's youngest nephew, Monty Kelk.

Having found the front of the event inside the final 8km, Letham rode away from the growing peloton and maintained his led to the line by a mere 8 seconds.

He would have been well aware the back markers were making strong progress through the field.

Steve Hands led the scratch markers in to claim second place and fastest time honours riding the course in 65.28.

Tony Ward secured third place with Jaron Stephens, Brad Hudson and Stu Lowe rounding out the top six.

With a large number of juniors competing in a Timaru track meet it was left to Ryan Jackson to storm home in the junior 15km event to take the victory and fastest time honours,

He had plenty of competition from a large division 2 field.

Methven local, Lizzy Barwell showed a clean set of heels to take the win with Rachel Russell charging into second place.

Irene Duff kept the Methven flag flying securing the third place spoils.

Vanessa Kelk pulled out a top shelf ride to take fastest time honours in a blanket finish with co-markers, Brian Ellis and Janette Hooper.

Next week the Club travels to Rakaia.  


Lisa Goldsbury kept the entire field at bay to secure victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, 47km handicap event around the Christys Road block on Sunday.

Starting of the front mark Goldsbury and her co-markers maintained a solid tempo before Goldsbury made a solo bid for glory mid way through the race and held on to lift the Alan Wylie Memorial Cup.

Geoff Rhodes new years training programme paid dividends leading in the chasing bunch to take the second place spoils.

Garry Weston was in the thick of the finish to claim the third place spoils with Doug Lowry continuing his good run of form in fourth place.

Dean Longhurst and Dave Knight rounded out the top six.

Steve Hands rode the course in a quick 61.41 to claim fastest time honours with co-markers Brad Hudson and Nathan Tew taking second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 competed over 18km.

Maddison Clark showed real determination in the hot conditions to take the victory in the junior event.

Caitlin Titheridge riding of the back mark rode through the field to secure the second place spoils and in doing so took out fastest time honours.

Bella Roulston stormed into third place with Ethan Titheridge producing a solid ride to take fourth.

Maddie Lowry and Ryan Jackson filled the next 2 positions.

Brain Ellis had the final say in the division 2 event to claim the win from Janette Hooper and Rachael Russell.

Next week the Club travels to Methven to contest the Dean Cooksley Memorial Trophies.


Ben Sutton had the perfect start racing in the senior ranks taking victory in Tinwald Cycling Club's, Mead Motors, Bedrock Bar and Grill, 36km handicap event around the Winchmore Church block on Sunday.

Sutton's victory came on the back of a well timed sprint in a bunch finish, earning him the Blackburn Cup, a trophy that has been presented to riders for the past 55 years.

John Uden started the New Year off with a solid second place leading in third place getter Bruce McClelland, who produced his best ride of the season.

Marty Cuttle, Doug Lowry and Shane Gerken rounded out the top six.

Brad Hudson secured fastest time honours riding the distance in 49.57, with co-markers Tony Ward and Nathan Tew taking second and third time.

The junior and division 2 raced over 18km.

Bella Roulston backed up her recent good results at the Denton Oval track carnival with a hard fought win. Bella held out the fast finishing Oliver Davidson by the barest of margins who claimed the second place spoils with co-marker Caitlin Titheridge right in the thick of the finish taking third place. Maddison Clark and Maddy Lowry rode strongly to fill the next two positions.

Scratch rider Matt Clough rode the course in 30.46 to secure fastest time honours from Abe O'Donnell and James Skinner.

Kerry Clough saw off all the challenges to take Division 2 victory from Drew Titheridge who claimed the fastest time spoils. Ronnie Campbell charged into third from Andy Skinner and Keryn O'Donnell.

Next week the Club contests the Wylie Cups around the Christys Road block.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.