Letham Goes One Better

After being within a tyre width of victory last week Sam Letham went one better in Tinwald Cycling Club's, Robbies Bar and Bistro, The Courier, 45km handicap event around the Dawsons Road block on Sunday.

Letham, a former New Zealand age group World Duathlon Championship representative displayed his strength in the final push to the line to take the win from Michael Gallagher and Matt Marshall.

Marty Cuttle, Ross Templeton and Rob Hooper rounded out the top six.

The podium finishes only found the front inside the final 1.5km after a solid group of thirteen riders had kept the chasing riders at bay.

Craig Domigan rode the course in 63.41 to take fastest time honours from co-markers Steve Hands and Brad Hudson.

A top field of 20 juniors contested a 15km handicap event.

Maddie Lowry backed up last week's victory with another top shelf ride to claim the major spoils. Rosie Gray continued her progression in the sport with a hard earned second place. Abe O'Donnell charged through the field to secure third place and in doing so took third fastest time honours. Henry Smith pushed him to the line to secure fourth place with Jaxson White and Luke Skinner filling the top six spots.      

Scratch rider Bailey O'Donnell covered the course in 25.47 to take fastest time honours after a sprint finish with co-marker Bailey Kershaw who took second time.

Andy Skinner led home division 2 from Keryn O'Donnell, Janette Hooper, Kerry Clough, and Drew Titheridge who secured fastest time honours.

Next week the Club will contest a graded scratch event around the Blackbridge block.

Marshall Opens Seasons Account

Glen Marshall secured victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Brad Hudson Flooring, Mathieson Chartered Accountants, 38km handicap event around the Wakanui - Hakatere course on Sunday.

With a solid field of 53 riders the result was wide open, this proved to be the case with the first 38 riders finishing inside 60 seconds of each other.

Marshall and his co-markers worked well to pick up the group in front inside the first 15km, then set about finding the front of the race which they did but only in the final 3km.

Marshall won the sprint in the shadow of the finish line from a game Sam Letham who rode strongly to claim second place spoils. Rachel Thow continued her good form to take third with Trevor Pratley, Dave Knight and Paul Mcfie rounding out the top six.

Brad Hudson rode the course in 51.50 to take fastest time honours from co-markers Tony Ward and Michael Templeton.

A big field of juniors contested a 16km handicap event.  

Front marker, Maddie Lowry rode a super race to keep the chasing riders at bay. Jenna Borthwick backed up last week's top ride to take second place. Charlotte Gray showed she will be one to watch charging into third place with Isabella Gibson, Rosie Gray and Abe O'Donnell hot on her tail filling the top six positions.

Bailey O'Donnell fresh from the Yunca Tour secured fastest time honours riding the distance in 26.13. Co-markers Connor Leov and Matthew Clough took second and third time respectively.

Division 2 also saw good numbers taking advantage of the warm spring day.

Tony Tarbotton saw off the challenge of Nicole Ellis to take the victory with Keryn O'Donnell securing the final podium spot. Janette Hooper secured fourth place with fifth place getter Drew Titheridge taking fastest time honours.

Next week the Club contests a handicap event around Dawsons Road.

Kennedy takes Victory

Mark Kennedy timed his charge to the line to perfection to claim the major spoils in Tinwald Cycling Club's, ACL, RX Plastics, 32km handicap event around the WakanuiBeach block on Sunday.

Kennedy and his co-markers set about their work in a growing breeze keeping the fast finishing chasers at bay by a slender 5 seconds.

Colin Teahen secured second place with Brian Ellis filling the third place podium spot.

Alan Johns, Ben Sutton, and Gene Shurrock rounded out the top six.

Alex Hooper, fresh from a break through podium finish in the elite race series, rode the course in 43.39 to secure fastest time honours from co-markers Tony Ward and Nigel Douglas.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 16km handicap event.

Jenna Borthwick showed her strength to take the win in the junior section and in doing so lift the Bushell Memorial Rose bowl.   Matheson Colquhoun charged into second place with Maddie Lowry showing plenty of fight to keep the chasing scratch riders at bay to take third place.

Jessie Banks and James Skinner filled fourth and fifth places respectively and in doing so also claimed the top two fastest time honours riding the course in 32.32.

Andrew Colquhoun took the win in division 2 seeing off the challenge of Andy Skinner with Janette Hooper and Nicole Ellis rounding out the top four.

Next week the Club will contest a 38km handicap event around a Wakanui - Hakatere course.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.