Hutchinson lifts Boomerang Cup

Chris Hutchinson led in a large group to claim victory and lift one of the oldest cups in the Tinwald Cycling Clubs cabinet, the 91 year old Boomerang Cup.

The Hinds Seed Cleaning : Paul Wylie Cyclerama, 50km handicap event raced in Hinds saw a number of groups come together inside the final 5 km, with the majority of the field finishing inside one and half minutes.

Hutchinson led out strongly with only Matt Marshall and junior Joe Hutchinson able to go with him.

Marshall held on gamely to secure second place with Rachel Thow charging into third in a tight finish with fourth place getter Dave Knight.

Glenn Moore continues his good season finding the line solidly in fifth with Kevin Opele rounding out the top six.

Michael Templeton lifted fastest time honours riding the course in 72.46 with co-markers Brad Hudson and Tony Ward taking second and third time.  

Abe O'Donnell showed grit into the head wind finish to take the win in the junior 18km handicap event. Caitlin Titheridge continues to impress with a top ride to claim second place and secure fastest time honours. Bella Roulston dug deep to secure the third place spoils.

Bailey O'Donnell and Oliver Davidson filled the top five spots.

Brian Ellis put his home town knowledge to good use leading in Janette Hooper to take victory in division 2.

Next week the Club will run a 3 stage mini tour at Wakanui with seniors starting at midday.  

Robertson Tames Picturesque Course

The Tinwald Cycling Club travelled north on Sunday to contest the AshburtonOnLine 50km handicap event on the picturesque Terrace Downs - Lake Coleridge course.

In excess of 50 riders battled each other and the building nor-westers.

It was local man Jamie Robertson who dug deep to keep the chasing scratch markers at bay who were charging their way through the field, to claim victory.

Nathan Tew led the chasing group in to claim second place and fastest time honours riding the course in 80.02.

Craig Domigan secured third and second fastest time with Steve Hands taking third time.

Fresh from a creditable fourth in the Coast to Coast 2 day event, Rob Nesbitt took the fourth place spoils with Nigel Douglas and Mike Kennish rounding out the top six.

Caitlin Titheridge had a battle royal with her co-marker India Domigan to secure victory in the junior 14km race. With both girls starting on the back mark, fastest time honours were also up for grabs and were only determined after a tight sprint to the line.

Chase Domigan led in Abe O'Donnell and Oliver Davidson to take the final podium position.

Brian Ellis took top spot in division 2 with Janette Hooper right on his tail in second.

Next week the Club travels to Hinds to contest a 50km handicap race.

Shepherd rounds up the top prize

Andrew Shepherd timed his charge to the line to perfection to claim victory and lift the John Cleary Memorial Trophy in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, 50km handicap event in Rakaia on Sunday.

With the front runners caught inside the final 300 metres the outcome went to the wire with the first 35 riders finishing inside one and an half minutes of each other. 

Glenn Moore continued his good form securing the second place spoils with Steve Tocher pulling out his best race of the season charging into third place.  Pam Harcourt was right on his tail to take fourth place leading in Kathy Askin and Lucy Kirwan who rounded out the top six.   

Mike Messerze rode the distance in 74.45 to secure fastest time honours from co-markers Mike Gallagher and Nigel Douglas.

Ben Suttons super ride is worthy of mention having lead the field in but due to being a junior was not eligible for the top prize but I am sure will be in the winners circle next season.

Bailey O'Donnell took line and fastest time honours charging through the field to grab victory by the barest of margins in the junior event raced over 18km.

With the three podium finishers recording the same time the result was decided on the line.  Ryan Jackson claimed second place with Abe O'Donnell settling for third in the tight finish.  Bella Roulston rode strongly to take fourth place.

Geoff Skerten put his local knowledge to good use winning division two from Janette Hooper, Keryn O'Donnell and Rachel Russell.

Next Saturday the Club will contest a 48km handicap event at Green Street.  

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.