Christie too hot

One of Tinwald Cycling Club's blue ribbon events was held on Sunday when open and age group Club titles were up for grabs over a 64km course around the Wakanui Beach block. Racing was keen with a good number of spectators around the course offering support.

The decisive break was made mid way through the first lap when Jason Christie and Alex Hooper went off the front of the peloton and stretched out the margin as the race progressed. Christie showed his class on the final lap to put some distance between him and Hooper to secure the Club open and senior championship titles. Hooper was rewarded for his effort with second place in the open grade and lifting the u19 title.

Meanwhile there was plenty of interest in the chasing group results. Michael Templeton led in a group of 11 riders to secure the third place spoils in the open event. The evergreen Tony Ward was in the thick of the finish securing fifth and in doing so claim vet 2 honours. Nathan Tew rounded out the top 6 to lift the u23 title. In the hotly contested vet 1 grade it was Nigel Douglas who found the line the strongest to edge out Michael Gallagher and Kevin Opele in a tight finish.

Lauren Ellis showed the "A" game that has bought her success on both the track and road crossing the line in fourth place overall and securing the women's open and senior titles.

Kristine Marriott lifted second place in the open and secured the vet 1 title in a tough tussle with third place getter Rachel Thow.

Paul Macfie continued his rise in the sport securing the vet 3 title with Bruce McClelland back to some of his best form taking out vet 4 honours.

Lucy Kirwan dug deep to take out the women's vet 2 championship with the highly competitive women's vet 3 grade being won by Janis Crawford.

Sealed handicap honours were taken out by Gene Shurrock with last year's winner Don Morrison in second place. Roger Wilson rounded out the top 3.

Ben Sutton lifted the u17 title covering the 32km distance in 60.49.

Kees Donaldson secured the u15 boys title from the ever improving Ryan Jackson and Cameron Prattley.

Jessie Banks continues her run of hot form taking the u15 girls title but not after a tough battle with second place getter Caitlin Titheridge. Caitlin was rewarded for her top effort with the sealed handicap spoils over Ryan and Kees.

The Club now breaks for the Christmas-New Year period and will be back on the road 19 January 2014.

Hudson takes the win

Brad Hudson sent a warning out to riders leading up to next weeks Club Championships taking victory in Tinwald Cycling Club's, Davidson's Refrigeration and Electrical Ltd, 50km handicap event around the Swamp Road block on Sunday.

Competitors had to contend with wet roads and rain at the top of the course and fine dry roads at the start-finish.

Hudson and his co-markers rode through the field finding the front inside the last 2km, setting up a large bunch sprint.

It was Hudson who found the line the strongest to hold out a game challenge from Christchurch visitor Jono Gee with Nigel Douglas storming into third place.

Matt Marshall and Ross Templeton rounded out the top five.

Hudson was also rewarded for his efforts riding the course in 75.20 to secure fastest time honours from co-markers Gee and Michael Templeton.

The juniors and Division 2 contested a 16km handicap event.

Connie Davidson rode well off the front to keep all the chasing riders at bay and take the victory. Caitlin Titheridge continued her good form to secure second place. Ben Sutton took the final podium position and in doing so secured fastest time honours riding the distance in 28.43. Ryan Jackson and Cameron Prattley were hot on their heals in fourth and fifth spots.

Drew Titheridge bet all comers to take Div 2 honours.

Next week the Club will hold their Club Championships around the Wakanui Beach block.        

Win for Knight

Dave Knight found the line the strongest to claim victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Darryl Phillips Motors : Goodman Tavendale Reid Law, 48km handicap event around the Grahams Road block on Sunday.

Knight jumped early to create a small gap that he held to the line with the next 11 riders finishing within 2 seconds of each other.

It was Glen Moore who secured second place in the tight finish with Pam Harcourt charging into third place. Allan Johns continued his early season improvements with a hard fought fourth. Lucy Kirwan rounded out the top five.

Scratch rider Nathan Tew took fastest time honours covering the course in 67.46. Co-markers Tony Ward and Scott Albon took second and third time.

The juniors rode a 16km handicap race.

Ben Sutton continued his success of late picking up the win and fastest time honours, riding the distance in 29.46. Jenna Borthwick rode a super race to take the second place spoils. Oliver Davidson was rewarded for some solid rides over recent weeks to take third place with Caitlin Titheridge and Cameron Prattley filling the top five spots.

Next week the Club will contest a 50km handicap event around the Swamp Road block.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.