Ferguson has last say

Birthday boy John Ferguson capped off a memorable weekend with victory in Tinwald Cycling Club's, Robbies Bar and Bistro : The Courier, 47km handicap event around the Dawsons Road block on Sunday.

Ferguson and his co-markers steadily moved through the field creating a hard working group of 14 riders. Having reached the front of the race inside the last 10km it came down to a hard fought sprint finish.

Ferguson found the front in the shadow of the finish line to edge a game Doug Coley into second place. Tonee Hurley pulled out her best race of the season so far to claim the final podium position. Paul McFie and Janis Crawford were in the thick of the finish to lift fourth and fifth place respectively.

Scott Albon covered the course in 65.11, showing he can match it with the scratch riders by securing fastest honours from co-markers, Tony Ward and Nathan Tew.

The juniors and division 2 raced over 16km.

Jenna Borthwick continues to impress with a strong ride to take victory in the junior event, digging deep to hold out the flying scratch markers. Caitlin Titheridge charged her way through the field to secure second place and record a time of 29.37 to take fastest time honours. Cameron Prattley was right on her tail in third place and was rewarded with second fastest time. Ryan Jackson took the fourth place spoils.

Tony Tarbotton claimed division 2 honours with Sonya Hydes pulling out a top effort to ride into second place.

Next week the Club will race a graded scratch race around the Blackbridge block.

Albon too Strong

Scott Albon showed plenty of strength in a head wind sprint finish to claim victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Brad Hudson Flooring : Mathieson Chartered Accountants, 38km handicap event around the Wakanui - Hakatere block on Sunday.

Albon and his co-markers made their way through the near 60 strong field finding the front in the final 5km, setting up a grandstand finish. This was made all the more interesting with the scratch markers on the charge, eventually getting within 8 seconds of the front on the finish line.

Albon had the final say with a solid early sprint getting the decisive break on the bunch. Matt Marshall hit the line strongly to secure second place with Ross Templeton backing up his early good season form taking third. Rob Hooper and Kristine Marriott held out the chasers to secure fourth and fifth places respectively.

Jamie Smitheram continues to impress with another top ride to take bragging rights in the junior "A" division.

Scratch marker Alex Hooper rode the course in 54.02 to lift fastest time honours from co-markers Tony Ward and Nathan Tew.

The juniors contested a 17km handicap event.

Connie Davidson rode a super race in tough conditions to keep all the chasing riders at bay to take the win and lift the Wakanui Cup. Cameron Prattley continues his rise in the sport with a solid effort to claim second place. Jenna Borthwick backed up her top finish last week with third place. Oliver Davidson and Abe O'Donnell rounded out the top five. Bailey O'Donnell secured fastest time from Oliver Davidson, riding the distance in 35.04.

Keryn O'Donnell took the Division 2 spoils with Helen Bancroft in second.

Next week the Club will contest a handicap race on Dawson Road.

Herewini Sprints to Victory

Aaron Herewini backed up last weeks fourth place with victory on Sunday in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Tinwald Tavern : Sims Bakery, 32km handicap event on Frasers Road.

Herewini and his co-markers found the front in the final fast return leg of the race. The group swelled to 25 strong with all riders a winning chance leading into the final kilometre.

Herewini pulled out his trade mark sprint to hold out the flying Ross Templeton who secured the second place spoils. Brendon Tocher held on grimly to take third by the barest of margins from Gene Shurrock returning to the open ranks after a number of years off the bike. Craig Roulston showed he has some early season form holding out the ever improving junior, Jamie Smitheram.

Tony Ward took fastest time honours from co-markers Michael Templeton and Michael Gallagher riding the course in 49.38.

Jenna Borthwick swapped her running shoes for the bike and had immediate success winning the junior 16km handicap event. Ben Sutton took second and secured fastest time honours covering the distance in 29.40. Oliver Davidson had to work hard to see off the challenge of Ryan Jackson to take third place with Ryan in fourth. Their efforts were rewarded with second and third fastest time respectively.

Next week the Club will contest a 38km handicap event around the Wakanui - Hakatere course.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.