Nesbitt goes back to back

Rob Nesbitt has found the winning way having secured back to back wins in Tinwald Cycling Clubs Sunday racing.   Nesbitt claimed victory in the Ross Templeton Motors : David Smith Surveying Ltd, 48km handicap event around the Wakanui Beach block, having made a solo break in the final lap to find the front and hold out the challengers in the final sprint to the line.

Bruce Albon hit the line strongly to take second place honours narrowly over the improving Brendan Davidson who stormed into third place.  Glen Moore and Janis Crawford rounded out the top five.    

Scratch marker Nathan Tew rode the course in 69.07 to take fastest time honours from co-markers Tony Ward and Brad Hudson.

A good field of juniors competed over 16km.

Ethan Titheridge also achieved back to back victories securing the win by the barest of margins over second place getter Jenna Borthwick.  Connie Davidson was in the thick of the finish to take the third place spoils.  Ben Sutton covered the course in 28.32 to record the fastest time from co-marker Jessie Banks.

Next week the Club travels to Mt Somers.

Christie shows class

The Tinwald Cycling Club travelled to the hills to contest a 45km mass start race at Mt Somers on Sunday.

The splits in the field came inside the first 5km with a group of 7 riders getting off the front of the main group. This group splintered into 3 short of the Hakatere Station turn around.

It was Jason Christie fresh from top shelf results in the Tour de Ijen in Indonesia who found the front and drove home his advantage from a game Nathan Tew who deservedly secured the second place spoils. Brad Hudson continued his good form claiming third place with Christchurch visitor Johno Gee and Tony Ward rounding out the top five.

Andrew Shepherd, having his first hit out of the season, secured the sealed handicap honours with Don Morrison and Gary Weston realising their potential to fill second and third places respectively.

The juniors and division 2 rode a 16km event.

Christchurch junior Louie Brown was too good taking the victory from fellow Club mate Joe Hutchinson. Abe O'Donnell showed his strength to take third spot with Connie Davidson and Oliver Davidson securing fourth and fifth places.

Renee Gage powered home to secure the top podium position in Division 2 from the ever improving Barry Linwood with Sonya Hyde rounding out the top 3.

Next week the Club will contest a 48km handicap event around the Grahams Road block.  

Nesbit lifts Peach Cup

Rob Nesbit put his recent block of mountain bike training and racing to good use on Sunday in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Peach Family : Canterbury Hotel, 45km handicap event in Methven, when scoring victory and in doing so lifted the Peach Cup.

Mrs Madge Peach was on hand to present the Cups and continue an association with the Club that has spanned 75 years.

Nesbit made a solo bid in challenging conditions on the final lap and held out the chasing back markers by a mere 9 seconds.

Brad Hudson led the scratch markers in to claim second place and secured fastest time honours riding the course in 69.05. Nathan Tew stepped onto the final podium position and also claiming second time. Co-markers Tony Ward and Steve Hands rounded out the top five.

Ethan Titheridge pulled out a top shelf ride to take the major prize in the junior 15km event. Ethan kicked clear on the finish line to see off a strong challenge from second place getter Connie Davidson.

Back marker Bailey O'Donnell put in a strong showing to secure third place and take fastest time honours

Abe O'Donnell and Oliver Davidson filled the top five spots.

Caitlin Titheridge was rewarded for her efforts taking second fastest time.

Jenny and Al Gilchrist contested the Division 2 event with Jenny securing the bragging rights for the coming weeks.

Next week the Club will contest a 48km handicap event at Wakanui.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.