McIntosh claims the win

It was women power to the fore In Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Wylie Family, 45km handicap race around the Christies Road block on Sunday, with four of the top seven places being claimed by the ladies.

Tesh McIntosh proved the strongest in the charge to the finish line to claim a hard fought victory and lift the Alan Wylie Memorial Cup.

Nigel Chatterton was hot on her heels to take the second place spoils, continuing his run of good form.

Charlotte Cox was in the thick of the finish to claim the final podium position.

Natalie Breading will be happy with her afternoons work, producing a great ride to secure fourth place.

Mark Smitheram, Paul Williams, and Katherine Gorrie were a solid part of the winning break away, that rounded out the top seven.

Christchurch visitors Adam Chapman and Michael Audeau could not be separated on the line and shared the fastest time honours, riding the course in 61.08.  Kyle Gray secured third time.

The juniors and division 2 contested an 18km handicap event.

Charlotte Neal produced an awesome ride to hold out the chasing back markers and claim the major spoils.

Olivia Ewing stormed into second place and also picked up fastest time honours, covering the distance in 31.04.

Jack Gorrie had a top ride securing third place.

Louie Audeau and Ryan Gallagher rounded out the top five.

Nigel Leary got the better of his co-markers to take division 2 honours from Brian Ellis and Allan Johns.

Next week the Club travels to the lowlands of Methven to contest a 45 km handicap event.

Waite kicks off the year with victory

Emma Waite kicked the year off in the best possible fashion claiming victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, 36km handicap event around the Winchmore Church block on Sunday.

Waite and her co-markers worked hard to find the front and stay away from the chasing bunch that got within a second of them on the finish line.

Michelle Knight will be rapped with her first up ride for the season finishing strongly to secure the second place spoils.

Nigel Chatterton and Mark Smitheram carried on their good run of form with a solid third and fourth places respectively.

Gary Weston led the chasing group in with his trade mark sprint to claim fifth, with Nick Grijns rounding out the top six.

Back marker Michael Audeau rode the course in 47.40 to lift fastest time honours.

Kyle Gray and Thomas Audeau recorded second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 18km handicap event.

Louie Audeau made it a great day for Team Auduea, producing his best race of the season to record the win and in doing so also lifted fastest time honours.

Ryan Gallagher ensured a grandstand finish pushing Louie right to the line with a strong sprint to take second place.

Honor Bradford was in the thick of the finish to take third place with Thomas Stevenson and Charlotte Neil filling the top five.

Brian Ellis claimed division 2 honours getting up over Allan Johns on the line.

Next week the Club will contest a 45km handicap event on the Christies Road block.    

Gray caps the year off with victory

Kyle Gray continued his sterling season when claiming the NBS Ashburton, Tinwald Cycling Club championship title on Sunday, raced over 64km around the Wakanui Beach block.

The mass start event saw overall and age group titles up for grabs, ensuring some tough racing.

Gray and a select group of 6 riders made the break at the 12km mark and continued on to cover the distance in 91.09

Sam Baltrop produced an eye catching ride to secure second place overall and in doing so take the senior men’s ribbon.

Larry Neal will be happy with his ride after a short lay off, charging into third place.

Fourth place getter Thomas Audeau lifted the under 19 trophy and title, with the ever present Steve Caldwell delivering his trade mark tough ride to take fifth place and vet 3 men’s honours.

Monique Brake build on her recent top track results with a strong ride to claim the overall women’s championship title.

Marcel Smithers was hot on her heels to secure the second place women’s spoils.

Emma Waite having her first season of racing dug deep to secure third women home honours and senior women’s ribbon.

Basil Audeau finished the race of strongly to secure the vet 2 men’s title.

Tony McManus continues to impressive with another top shelf effort to see him claim the vet 4 men’s spoils and take out the sealed handicap cup.

Liz Wylie again showed her determination to lift the vet 4 woman’s title.

Junior Club honours were also up for the taking over 16km distance.

Jack Gorrie had a day to remember breaking clear in the final 5km to take the victory and Club Championship honours.

Zac Brookland pushed him to the line to secure second place.

Third place getter Thomas Stevenson had his best race of the season to take the third place spoils, getting home over fourth place getter Connor Spillane in a sprint finish.

Louie Audeau was hot on their tails in fifth.

Charlotte Neal again produced a great ride to lift the u15 girls championship title.

The Club takes a break over the festive season and will be back on 8 January 2023, with a 36km handicap event around the Winchmore Church block.     

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.