Williams throws the dice

The evergreen Paul Williams collected his second victory of the season when taking the win in Tinwald Cycling Club’s, Dean Cooksley Memorial, 48km event around the Wakanui Beach block on Sunday.

In a good field exceeding 50 riders, Williams and his co-markers worked hard to give themselves every chance leading into the final lap.

The decisive move came inside the final 5km, when Williams and two other riders jumped clear from their bunch and set sail for the line. This proved to be the winning move.

Williams had the best of the charge to the line to secure the win.

Nick Van Nie Kerk made his first start for the Club a memorable one taking the second place spoils.

Glenn Moore continued his strong season with a well-earned third place.

Don Sutton led in the chasing bunch to record fourth place.

Roger Wilson and Paul Brake rounded out the top six.

Michael Audeau lifted fastest time honours, covering the distance in a quick 61.10.

Kyle Gray and Noah Hollamby recorded second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 raced over 16km.  

Carter Shepherd had a stand out ride to take the win in the junior race and lift the Dean Cooksley Memorial Trophy.

Oscar Gorrie having his first hit out of the season produced a top effort to take second place.

Big brother Jack Gorrie continues to impress, with a solid ride to secure third place and fastest time, riding the course in 25.11.

Louie Audeau and Jack Hooper filled the top five positions.

Brain Ellis secured division 2 bragging rights from Graham McDougall.

Next week the Club will contest a 50km handicap event on the Gardiners Road, Rakaia course.    

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.