McManus turns back the clock

Tony McManus made his trip down from Christchurch worth its while, taking out Tinwald Cycling Clubs, 50km handicap event around the Rakaia block on Sunday.

McManus, an avid bike racer for many years, made a well-timed late solo bid for glory.

His decision paid off handsomely keeping the charging bunch at bay by a mere 6 seconds on the finish line.

McManus’s victory earned him the John Cleary Memorial Trophy.

Matt Clough led the chasing group in to claim second place and in doing so also secured fastest time honours, riding the distance in 75.38.

Larry Neal continued his good form claiming third and second fastest time.

Mark Taylor was in the thick of the finish to record fourth place, with Steve Franc in fifth.

Kev Opele round out the top six and secured third fastest time.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 15km handicap race.

Tom Reid produced a sterling effort off the front mark to stay away and score the win.

Lily Davidson pulled out a top shelf effort to take second place and fastest time honours, riding the course in 33.03.

Tegan Marriott dug deep to secure the third place spoils.

Jack Templeton and Leah Reid filled the next two spots.

Debbie Skinner had a great ride to take the Division 2 victory.

Second place getter Brain Ellis picked up fastest time honours.

Hot on his tail was Kenny Johnston, from Janette Hooper, and Hillary Singlewood.

Next week the Club will contest a 48km graded scratch event around the Wakanui Beach block.  

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.