Smitheram wins in close finish

Jamie Smitheram found the line the strongest in a two up sprint to claim victory in Tinwald Cycling Club’s, 45km handicap event at Methven on Sunday.

Smitheram’s efforts saw him lift the Dean Cooksley Memorial Trophy.

Gene Shurrock produced his best performance of the season to deservedly pick up the second place getter spoils.

The evergreen Don Morrison led in the chasing group to secure third place.

Bruce Blackburn held on gamely to take fourth place.

Paul Williams and Roger Wilson rounded out the top six.

Scratch marker Tony Ward secured fastest time honours, covering the distance in 68.05.

Co-markers Steve Hands and Nigel Douglas took second and third time.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 15km handicap event.

Local rider Lucy Reeve underlined her potential, storming home to secure the win and fastest time honours.

Lucy rode the course in in 27.28.

Holly Douglas-Crawford continued her great first season form with a great ride to take second place.

Debbie Skinner took division 2 honours in a close finish with Janette Hooper.

Kenny Johnston secured third place and fastest time honours.

Next week the Club will travel to Rakaia to contest a 50km handicap event on the new Gardiners Road block.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.