Davidson scoops major titles

Tinwald Cycling Club contested one of their blue ribbon events on Sunday, the Ashburton MSA Liquor Centre, Tinwald Cycling Club Championships.

Held over 64km around the Wakanui Beach block, it was an opportunity for members to lift overall and age group Club Championship titles.

In contrast to previous years a large bunch of 14 riders broke clear midway through the first lap and stayed together, making for an interesting sprint to the line.

Oliver Davidson timed his run perfectly to hit the front in the shadow of the finish to claim the overall and under 19 championship titles.  Davidson rode the distance in 96.42.

Second place getter Flynn Beeman jumped first in the charge to the line and hung on bravely to the secure under 23 spoils.

Nigel Douglas was active throughout the race and was rewarded with third place overall and the veteran 1 title.

Brad Hudson stormed home late to take fourth place.

The evergreen Tony Ward finished fifth and in doing so lifted the veteran 3 ribbon.

Kristine Marriott was in the thick of the finish to claim the women’s overall Cup and veteran 2 championship ribbon.

Rob Hooper kicked on gamely in the charge the line to secure the men’s veteran 2 honours.

Sam Clement-Stewart rounded out his busy weekend of training with a solid performance, to lift the senior men’s title.

Under 19 women’s honours and second women overall went to Caitlin Titheridge.

Don Morrison produced another solid effort to take veteran 4 spoils.

Marcel Smithers had a day to remember, securing the senior women’s ribbon, along with third women home, and lifting the sealed handicap trophy.

Shona McGrath found plenty of strength to take the veteran 3 women’s title.

The juniors also had the chance to take home Club titles, competing over 16km.

A good field of all under 15 riders went to the line.

Zoe Spillane continued her great season form to take the victory and secure the overall junior championship tile and the under 15 girl’s ribbon, riding the course in 30.10.

Penny Marriott continued her rise in the sport, securing the girls second place and sealed handicap honours.

Lily Davidson was in the thick of race to take the girls third place spoils.

Anwolf Artz backed up last week’s top effort to take the boys under 15 championship title.

Jack Templeton was hot on his heels to claim the second place spoils, with James Reid rounding out the top 3 podium finishers.

The Club will take a break and kick the New Year off with a 36km handicap event around the Winchmore Church block on 5 January 2020.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.