Bill Hood held out all challengers to take line honours in Tinwald Cycling Club's final race of the season, the Ashburton Trust, 80km Mid Canterbury Championships raced at Wakanui on Saturday.

Hood and his co-marker found the front 45km into the race. With the back markers making strong head way into their lead, Hood made a brave solo 35km bid for glory holding out the chasing riders to claim victory.

Timaru visitor Glen Marshall led in a solid group of riders to secure the second place spoils. Michael Gallagher was rewarded for a top ride to take the final podium position.

The evergreen Neil Wylie showed he can match it with the best taking fourth place and in doing so claimed veteran three fastest time honours.

Fifth place getter Kristine Marriott displayed her class claiming the overall fastest women's honours to round out a top season.

Fastest time honours went to Michael Templeton holding out a strong group of scratch riders, covering the course in a quick 1.54.53.

Tony Ward took second time honours and in doing so secured veteran two time honours with Brad Hudson taking third time.

Michelle Davidson produced a great ride to take veteran 2 women time honours with Shona Proctor building on her good track form to lift veteran 3 women's time honours.

Dave Shurrock delivered his best ride of the season to lift veteran 4 time honours.

Ryan Jackson rounded out his first season of bike racing in fine form claiming the u17 champions title with the well performed Ben Sutton taking fastest time honours over the 32km course.

The u15 title completed over 16km was hard fought with Bella Roulston riding strongly off the front to keep the chasing riders at bay. Connie Davidson charged into second place with Abe O'Donnell continuing his strong season taking the third place spoils.

Fourth placer getter Jessie Banks continues to impress and was rewarded for a top year on the bike with fastest time honours just ahead of Bailey O'Donnell.

Brian Ellis and Janette Hooper continued their weekly division 2 battle with a dead heat finish.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.