Hutchinson lifts Boomerang Cup

Chris Hutchinson led in a large group to claim victory and lift one of the oldest cups in the Tinwald Cycling Clubs cabinet, the 91 year old Boomerang Cup.

The Hinds Seed Cleaning : Paul Wylie Cyclerama, 50km handicap event raced in Hinds saw a number of groups come together inside the final 5 km, with the majority of the field finishing inside one and half minutes.

Hutchinson led out strongly with only Matt Marshall and junior Joe Hutchinson able to go with him.

Marshall held on gamely to secure second place with Rachel Thow charging into third in a tight finish with fourth place getter Dave Knight.

Glenn Moore continues his good season finding the line solidly in fifth with Kevin Opele rounding out the top six.

Michael Templeton lifted fastest time honours riding the course in 72.46 with co-markers Brad Hudson and Tony Ward taking second and third time.  

Abe O'Donnell showed grit into the head wind finish to take the win in the junior 18km handicap event. Caitlin Titheridge continues to impress with a top ride to claim second place and secure fastest time honours. Bella Roulston dug deep to secure the third place spoils.

Bailey O'Donnell and Oliver Davidson filled the top five spots.

Brian Ellis put his home town knowledge to good use leading in Janette Hooper to take victory in division 2.

Next week the Club will run a 3 stage mini tour at Wakanui with seniors starting at midday.  

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.