Shepherd rounds up the top prize

Andrew Shepherd timed his charge to the line to perfection to claim victory and lift the John Cleary Memorial Trophy in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, 50km handicap event in Rakaia on Sunday.

With the front runners caught inside the final 300 metres the outcome went to the wire with the first 35 riders finishing inside one and an half minutes of each other. 

Glenn Moore continued his good form securing the second place spoils with Steve Tocher pulling out his best race of the season charging into third place.  Pam Harcourt was right on his tail to take fourth place leading in Kathy Askin and Lucy Kirwan who rounded out the top six.   

Mike Messerze rode the distance in 74.45 to secure fastest time honours from co-markers Mike Gallagher and Nigel Douglas.

Ben Suttons super ride is worthy of mention having lead the field in but due to being a junior was not eligible for the top prize but I am sure will be in the winners circle next season.

Bailey O'Donnell took line and fastest time honours charging through the field to grab victory by the barest of margins in the junior event raced over 18km.

With the three podium finishers recording the same time the result was decided on the line.  Ryan Jackson claimed second place with Abe O'Donnell settling for third in the tight finish.  Bella Roulston rode strongly to take fourth place.

Geoff Skerten put his local knowledge to good use winning division two from Janette Hooper, Keryn O'Donnell and Rachel Russell.

Next Saturday the Club will contest a 48km handicap event at Green Street.  

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.