Leary holds on

It was a day for the front markers in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Netherby Meats, 48km handicap event around the Grahams Road block on Sunday.  

Nigel Leary dug deep to maintain the tight margin he had over the chasing duo of Helen Bancroft and Liz Wylie.

Leary held on to record the victory and lift the McElhinney Trophy.

Bancroft prevailed in the two sprint to the line claiming second place from Wylie.

They would have been well aware of a solid bunch of riders bearing down on them in the concluding stages.

Gary Weston had the best of the bunch charge to the line to secure fourth place.

Michelle Knight had a great race to take fifth, with Chris Reid backing up from last week’s good effort rounding out the top six.

Tony Ward led in a solid group of scratch markers to claim fastest time honours, riding the course in a quick 65.33.

Kyle Gray and Larry Neal secured second and third time.     

The juniors and division 2 battled it out over 16km.

Zac Brookland produced a sterling effort to take the win and lift the major spoils.

Ella Turnbull turned in another good performance to claim second place.

Last weeks winner Daniel Gould rode strongly to take third place.

James Reid was right in the hunt with a top ride to take fourth place.

Fifth place getter Mitch Brookland secured fastest time honours, riding the distance in 26.17.

Honor Bradford was right in the mix securing six place.

A good field of division 2 riders were led in by Lisa Turnbull.

Second place getter Brian Ellis secured fastest time honours, with Debbie Skinner stepping onto the final podium position.

Next week the Club heads to Hinds to contest a 50km handicap event.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.