51 year wait ended

It took John Delore 51 years to get redemption when he secured victory in Tinwald Cycling Clubs, Tinwald Tavern Mid-Canterbury Championship on Saturday.

In 1969 as a youngster, Delore with one hand on the Cup, was pipped on the finish line and had to do with the second place.

The final event of the season’s calendar saw a good field of riders contest the 64km handicap event around the Wakanui beach block.

Delore and his co-markers worked well together to find the front of the race, and dug deep to keep the chasing groups as bay.

Delore bet Nigel Leary in the two up sprint to the line to etch his name in the Cup.

Leary’s second place was just reward for a good day’s work and a solid season of riding.

Penny Costello led the chasing group in to secure the final podium position and secure the senior women’s fastest time ribbon.

Shona McGrath was in the thick of the finish to claim fourth spot and the women’s veteran 3 title.

Liz Wylie and Brent Hudson rounded out the top six places.

Scratch marker Oliver Davidson produced a great ride to claim the overall fastest time honours, riding the distance in 92.11.

The evergreen Tony Ward secured second fastest time and the veteran 3 fastest time spoils.

Nigel Douglas was hot on their tail to claim third time and the veteran 1 time ribbon.

Kristine Marriot continued her great form with a strong ride to claim the overall women’s fastest time honours, from Caitlin Titheridge and Michelle Davidson.

Sam Clement-Stewart rounded out a good season with the senior men’s time ribbon.

Veteran 2 time honours went to Rob Hooper, with Christchurch visitor Brent Cowie lifting the veteran 4 fastest time title.

Marcel Smithers finished the season off in style securing the veteran 1 ribbon, with Caitlin Titheridge lifting the women’s under 19 spoils.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 16km handicap event.

Sarah Gould produced her best performance of the season, storming home to take the junior Mid-Canterbury Championship title.

Leah Reid also pulled out an outstanding ride to take the second place spoils.

Holly Crawford-Douglas rounded out a successful first season on the bike, taking third place.

Sisters Tegan and Penny Marriott were in the thick of the finish taking fourth and fifth places respectively.

Sixth place getter Zac Brookland lifted the under 15 boys fastest time ribbon.

Zoe Spillane who continues to impressive took the under 15 girls time title.

Scratch markers Ferg Sail and Maddi Lowry secured the under 17 boys and girls time ribbon respectively, riding the course in 26.01

Debbie Skinner took the division spoils from Janette Hooper, with third place getter Kenny Johnston claiming fastest time.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.