Big Field contests Dean Cooksley Memorial

Making the most of a hot summer's day, in excess of 70 bike riders took to the roads around Methven in the Tinwald Cycling Clubs, 45km handicap event.  

With the Dean Cooksley Memorial trophies up for grabs, races were hotly contested.

Front marker Helen Bancroft held on gamely to keep the chasing riders at bay to deservedly take victory.

Local rider Barrie Begg showed a clean pair heels in large bunch sprint to the line to secure the second place spoils.

Michael Kennish stormed into third with Phil Duff right on this tail in fourth place.   The flying Scotsman Gregor Robertson and Kathy Askin rounded out the top six.

Tony Ward rode the course in a slick 63.27 to claim fastest time honours from co-markers Nathan Tew and Brad Hudson.

The juniors and division 2 raced over 17km.

Isabella Roulston made it a day to remember securing the win and lift the Trophy.

Connie Davidson continued her hot run of good form to take second place.  Ryan Jackson pulled out a top shelf effort to secure the final podium position and in doing so took second fastest time.

Abe O'Donnell claimed fourth with his brother Bailey O'Donnell charging into fifth to take fastest time honours riding the distance in 32.48.

Rachel Russell took victory in division 2 holding out a good field.  Keryn O'Donnell hit the line strongly to secure second and fastest time honours from Janette Hooper in third place.  Jenny and Al Gilchrist, and Irene Duff filled the next three spots.

Next week the Club travels to Rakaia to contest a 50km handicap event. 


Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.