Persistence Pays Off

It has been 30 years in the making, and it came to fruition on Sunday when Don Morrison stood on the top step of the podium having taken victory in Tinwald Cycling Club’s, 50km handicap event around the Rakaia block.

Morrison’s victory saw him lift the John Cleary Memorial trophy.

Morrison and his co-markers rode their race to perfection, finding the front and continued to push on fully aware that the large field of riders were hunting them down.

The result was decided in a four up sprint, with Morrison finding a little extra from a game Nigel Chatterton, who produced his best ride of the season to take second place.

Mark Smitheram was in the thick of the finish to claim the third place spoils.

Rachel Reid rounding out her Coast to Coast preparation took fourth place.

The chasing bunch was led in by Grant McKenzie, with Ed Hobson taking sixth place.

Scratch marker Larry Neal secured fastest time honours, riding the course in 71.09.

Co-markers Nigel Douglas and Tony Ward recorded second and third time respectively.

The juniors and division 2 contested a 15km handicap event.

Charlotte Neal made it a good day for Team Neal, riding strongly to take a well-earned win in the junior event.

Tom Reid carried on his good form from the previous week digging deep to take second place.

James Reid is also coming into some good form with a great ride to secure the final podium position.

Sarah Gould took the fourth place spoils, with fifth place getter Ryan Gallagher securing fastest time honours, covering the distance in 32.07.

Merv Grewar saw off all challengers to take the win in division 2.

Brian Ellis and Kerry Clough filled the minor spots with back marker Kenny Johnston claiming fastest time honours.

Next week the Club will contest a 48km graded scratch event around the Wakanui Beach block.         

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.