John Harcourt had to pull out all the stops to take victory in Tinwald Cycling Club's, ACL : RX Plastics, 32km handicap event around the Wakanui Beach block on Sunday.

Harcourt and his co-markers set about the business from the gun, aware that the whole field were in hot pursuit. Leading into the final half of the race the brunch had been whittled down to three with Harcourt claiming the win in a tight sprint from Drew Titheridge and Liz Wylie.

If they had time to look behind them on the finish line they would have seen a group of 10 riders, the closest being Aaron Herewini, 1 second back in fourth place. Martin Hyde and Bruce Albon were right on his wheel taking fifth and sixth respectively.

Nathan Tew covered the distance in 45.51 to take fastest time honours from co-markers Michael Templeton and Tony Ward.

Bailey O'Donnell opened his new season's account with a hard victory in the junior 16km handicap event. Bailey caught his younger brother Abe and co-marker Ryan Jackson late in the race and was pushed right to the line by these two who finish second and third respectively.

Connie Davidson took fourth place with Ben Sutton claiming fifth and fastest time riding the course in 29.05.

Pete Restieaux held out Glen Shurrock to take Division 2 honours.

Next week the Club races a 35km handicap event on Frazers Road.

Copyright © 2015. Tinwald Cycling Club - Powered by The West Wing.